Speaking of Death

Bernadette Judaea
Delightfully Taboo Poetry
2 min readMar 12, 2022
Photo by Oscar Keys on Unsplash

You fear me because I reveal
something real about you.
Your attempts to ignore me will hurt you
more than they will ever hurt me.
Even though you want to know,
you won’t allow your mind to go there.
But I assure you, we’ll be together one day
You won’t hear me wishing you were here
The day will come and it will be very clear.
You’ll beg for me when your body aches of age
By then, I’ll have forgotten about you
I’ll leave you waiting long past when you’re due.
After all your friends and family
have joined in me in eternity
you’ll be wishing you had acknowledged me.
Because if you had
you’d know I’m not bad
You’d see I can be
a welcome reprieve
sent here to relieve
you of all your suffering.
And the mere reverence of me
Could set your soul free.
But you’ll deny me all your life until the end
When there’s no event left for you to attend.

You’ve shunned me to the corner
only allowing me to be present
when you want to feel sorry for me.
Darling, I don’t need your sympathy.
Its for your own good that you remember me
or else you may not know happiness.
Because of me, you have that reference.
I’m not the monster you make me out to be
I’m the reason that you live fully.
But I promise, the more you get to know me
the more you’ll be amazed by what you see.
If you allow yourself to experience while you’re alive
what you’d like to be feeling when I do arrive;
all the things you’ll have loved to have seen
all the places you’ll want to have been
all the people you’ll want to have known
all the secrets you’ll want to have shown
then you’ll greet me with love
without being afraid.
You’ll have made sure I never left
I always stayed.

Originally written in Collective Journaling at The Stoa

--

--