Database Project: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly — Week 1

Jamie Boyd
Deloitte Digital Connect
2 min readFeb 2, 2022

This week, I am excited to be starting my journey on the Deloitte Digital Connect programme with CAST. My ambition with the programme is to review the requirements of the charity I work with and build a database solution to improve the organisational process efficiencies and enable greater security and protection of our data.

Good things

So far I’ve had great internal buy-in for the project and the Deloitte Digital Connect programme. I am excited to move forward with my project over the next few months and feel supported by the team.

Difficulties

As has been the main difficulty in getting a project like this off the ground in the past, I have found it difficult to carve out time in my week to work on it. Other activities appear to have greater priority at this time but I need to improve my time blocking to allow sufficient time in my week to progress this project.

Achievements

I’ve been able to attend two workshops within the last 7 days from the Deloitte Digital connect programme which is been great!

Learned things

It’s been really interesting to learn more about the concept of ‘Open Working’. I’ve ‘re-used’ others’ work many times during my job, from using templates I’ve found online to learning from others’ research. I have yet, however, ever published any of my own work online for others to benefit from. I can see how this would be a beneficial practice and something I intend to incorporate into how I work going forward.

--

--