Earning a crust, and other overused metaphors

Dan Farmer
Deloitte Digital Connect
2 min readFeb 18, 2022
A latticed pie with a slice cut from it
Crust: I’m earning mine (Photo by Hugo Aitken on Unsplash)

This week has felt like I’m properly in post, under the hood, at the coal face, earning my crust.

In short, the honeymoon period is over. But honeymoons shouldn’t last forever. We should all want to get stuck into the messy but gainful realities of marriage / getting on with our new job.

What’s great is that I’m starting to understand some of the problems that need solving. New colleagues have been helpfully honest about the as-is, and generally without finger pointing or residual bitterness around the tricky bits.

It feels like there’s lots of unravelling to do before we can start ravelling (?) again, but that’s fine. I have some good support, internally and from the Deloitte partnership, and we have begun the planning of how we will bring together our digital strategy and roadmap.

*****

A massive highlight this week was meeting my team, all of them, in three dimensions, for a day of planning and getting to know each other. They are a great bunch: committed, fun, thoughtful, reflective. All the good adjectives.

But that day did take it out of me. One exercise in the Team Day involved 16 Personalities. I’m INFJ… the rarest of the 16, dontyerknow.

Simon Sinek taught me about introverts (the I in INFJ): it doesn’t mean you’re socially awkward; it does mean you lose energy from social interactions. And that was certainly true for me after Tuesday, I’ve been knackered all week.

Bring on the weekend then more fun at the coal face next week.

--

--