Finding comfort in uncertainty

Charné Tromp
Deloitte Digital Connect
1 min readMar 3, 2022
Image by Michelle Bondesio

Over the last week I’ve been reflecting on my levels of comfort with uncertainty. I’m a big planner and love nailing down the finer detail in projects and processes. This year, I’ve set myself a challenge to do a little less planning and be more open to change, because as we all know, even the best laid plans can still go wrong.

Over the last few weeks, I’ve had the opportunity to chat to a number of Deloitte Digital Connect participants through check-in calls and peer support sessions (one of my favourite parts of my job).😃 I’ve learnt so much from these conversations, and reflections on how uncomfortable uncertainty can be (e.g. not knowing what the end product will look like) felt very close to home for me.

Like life, the design process can often feel uncomfortable as we work through uncertainty toward more certain solutions. So I’m challenging myself to sit a little longer in that uncertainty and see what more I can learn from it. 🤔

--

--