Offboarding

Emma Price
Deloitte Digital Connect
2 min readMay 14, 2024

--

We’ve had our final peer group learning session and it was really interesting to see how others had progressed with their work. It was reassuring that I wasn’t behind and that some of the blocks I’d reached, others also had.

We do a lot as a charity and we help people in a variety of backgrounds. I’ve narrowed down my focus as although there’s a lot to do, I need to take small steps to achieve that.

Working as an advisor gives me invaluable insight into the daily workings of our organisation and the problems that clients and advisors face. Using that knowledge, I’ll focus on digitising one element of what we do. I’ll carry out some user research after, and then with buy in from other stakeholders I’ll scale up and use my learning to make other improvements.

The support from Deloitte is twofold. With their support I’m able to help my organisation to become more accessible and inclusive digitally, and I can simultaneously consider service design, customer service and user experience. These focusses shouldn’t be considered in isolation as they overlap so much and the amount I’ve learnt about inclusion and accessibility, not just digitally, really is huge.

I’m currently prototyping a low risk/high reward digital solution to a problem that’s been highlighted as part of this project and with the support of my Project Sponsor, I’m working to raise the profile of the work I’ve been doing.

I’m particularly proud that I can advocate for clients and colleagues in my role and I’m a strong believer that being user-centred is the best approach when considering how accessible and inclusive we are, digitally or not.

One lesson I’ll take away from the DDC project is that there’s help out there. We’ve been given access to such a wide range of resources and it’s been amazing to link up with others in a similar boat. Certain Curtain Theatre have said in our group this morning that finding something doesn’t work is just as valuable as finding something that does and I completely agree.

I’m still very excited to have been part of this cohort and have learnt a lot from my peers, so a big thank you to DDC and to them.

--

--