Puzzle pieces slotting together

KCreus
Deloitte Digital Connect
2 min readMar 8, 2022

In this tale, the puzzle is Google Adwords. Having waved off an agency who, to put it kindly, were ripping us off, the duty to run our Google Adwords account logically rested with me.

If I was an expert in Adwords, I wouldn’t be on this programme, right? So it was with enormous gratitude that we received pro-bono support from a well known PPC agency.

So started a long journey of setting up campaigns, keywords, headlines and goals. To say I felt overwhelmed with the task is an understatement, but I assured myself it would all make sense in the end. It still hasn’t, but the account is ticking along nicely. I just don’t know how it got like that, and how I would do that on my own without my very patient trainer.

Ahead of me lay the daunting task of maintaining the account, and setting up ad groups as they are needed. I couldn’t shake off the horrible feeling that I should know what I’m doing by now. After all I had received all this great support.

The timing couldn’t have been better when Media Trust announced one of their free Google training sessions: Google Ads Grants Masterclass. Although my cynical side was goading me with what could I possibly learn at this point? My kinder side was telling me to go for it as you can never learn too much about Google Ads.

Readers, you could have heard the penny dropping from all corners of the country. The session, led by Bobby -who talk about dedication- joined us from his honeymoon in the Caribbean, was a step by step, visual bonanza breaking down the process of setting up your account. What are goals, considering the objectives of your organisation, the structure of your account, tracking and so on.

All I needed to make sense of the process of setting up the account, which the agency did so well supporting me with, was to break down the foundations of Adwords into baby steps. I was missing that puzzle piece, and with the training from Media Trust; it was like two indeterminate blue sky puzzle pieces finally coming together.

A note on open working so far

I’m increasingly blown away by the free support available, and you don’t even need to look that hard to find what can help you. Feeling like I’m doing a lot of taking in this new open working arena, I’m thrilled to be giving back to another organisation and helping them with their grantee introduction process.

But what’s important here is that I don’t feel I have to give back, I want to.

A white puzzle with one piece missing.

--

--