Delphy and the Democratization of Information

Michael Koller
Delphy
Published in
2 min readFeb 4, 2018

When I was growing up, internet access meant you had money for a computer and the monthly bill that came with it. These were the days of AOL and chat rooms. I grew up in a single parent household and one year my mom used our entire income tax to buy me my first computer. I still remember walking out of the Gateway store grinning ear to ear.

I knew it would change my entire perception of the world and it did! I remember learning how to use Napster and streaming BBC’s Radio 1 late at night. My outlook went from being a kid in Colorado to believing I could do anything. Looking back, it was the access to information that kept my possibilities limitless.

I’ve been in crypto since 2013. I bought my first Trezor (hardware wallet) in 2014. A lot of people ask me how I heard about Bitcoin and other decentralized coins and tokens. The simple answer is information and my ability to access it.

I now work for Delphy, a prediction market built on the Ethereum network. Attitudes towards prediction markets vary. The pessimistic view is that they’re a wagering platform. I beg to differ. A decentralized prediction market has the power to democratize information. For example, what if Delphy had been available before the Great Recession? Is it possible transparent information could have prevented the entire event? We’ll never know but this is the power of a decentralized prediction market.

The dream is slowly becoming a reality. Delphy is set to go live on the Ethereum network by the end of the month. The platform uses a mobile app, making information even more accessible to the masses. My hope is that Delphy empowers others to dream big and use information to do so.

About Delphy

A decentralized mobile platform for prediction markets.

Delphy is a decentralized, mobile prediction market platform built on Ethereum. The Delphy App is a light Ethereum node running on mobile devices.

Delphy uses market incentives to allow participants in a market to communicate, instantly and transparently, their wisdom regarding the outcome of upcoming events, effectively predicting the future. We designed Delphy from the start to be decentralized, which makes it difficult to manipulate prediction results.

Join us on Telegram!

https://t.me/DelphyCHAT

--

--