30 years of war, a matter of seconds

Demi Korban
demikorban
Published in
2 min readAug 5, 2020
Photo: Tamara Saade

Beirut, this is the first time I look at you with no words to say. I’m speechless. What was once the most dearest city to my heart is now unrecognizable. The sweet memories I’ve shaped in every corner are no longer there.

Devastation is an understatement, for what we experienced last night is the harshest knife to every Lebanese’s heart despite all the struggles every generation went through previously.

Am I angry? Oh hell yes, I am. I want to fight. Fight for better not for worse. Fight for all those who lost a loved one and all those injured.

Growing up, I always had the curiosity to feel something close to what the older generation witnessed with the 30 year civil war, but here we are experiencing complete demolition in a matter of seconds.

I wish I never had this inquisitiveness because what we live through is unfair. Just as a generation starts to get its feet on the ground something paramount comes sweeping every last hope we hold close.

I wasn’t there and this brings me to the next stage of emotion. Guilt. Guilt for not giving family and friends hugs as we went through this. What can we do now? What should we feel when we see shattered homes that were once a source of unity and comfort?

To Beirut, I know you’re hurting. I know you’re in pain and I’m well aware how upset you are at us for not standing up for you and for not protecting you from this recklessness.

Is this your end? Or will this be your new beginning? I hope it’s a new chapter. I left you but I always knew that fate would bring us back together but I would love to see you all grown up when I’m back — that will bring me the utmost pleasure.

I thank you for everything you’ve given me. For the lousy driving, the endless parties, the love for life and the humanitarian element that I can never find in any country I live or vacation in.

You’re strong though and I know you never give up and this just another hiccup in your way. I’m not romanticizing, but I’m sure we’ve learned our lesson. We’re all here to protect you now and we’re all here to pick up all the pieces while you just take a breath and rest.

Stay safe and get well soon.

--

--