Looking Back and Looking Forward

Heather Barmore
Democratic National Convention
3 min readApr 21, 2016

Written by Reverend Leah D. Daughtry, CEO of the Democratic National Convention

Eight years ago, in the Mile High City of Denver, Colorado, I had the honor to serve as the CEO of the Democratic National Convention. It was during the 2008 Convention that our Party nominated Barack Obama for President of the United States. The success of that Convention helped to propel him to an historic election.

Today, I write to you from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, the city of Brotherly Love and Sisterly Affection as I once again, serve as CEO of the Democratic Convention as the Party prepares to nominate candidates for president and vice president. And, once again, the nation finds itself on the cusp of an historic election.

I am humbled to say that I am the only person to twice serve as CEO of the Democratic Convention. As my staff and I plan the most forward-looking, innovative and inclusive Convention the Democratic Party has ever seen, the question I am most often asked is what has changed over the past eight years and what hasn’t?

I would say that the biggest change is social media and how platforms we hold in the palm of our hand have changed the conversations around politics, policy and culture. In 2008, Twitter was present but nowhere near as ubiquitous as it is now. What was once a place for brevity and quick thoughts between friends now makes news and creates movements. Social media has been a catalyst as posts turn to action, change and another step in the journey of this country.

When the Democratic Party gathers here in Philadelphia, it will be under the banner of ‘We the People’. In the last eight years we have become a more connected and engaged nation. This is something that my team and I are striving to capitalize on as we create an inclusive event for all people. Social media and new technology will allow us to reach more people than ever when the Convention convenes this July.

Now, what hasn’t changed? The dedication of the team who surround me here in Philadelphia. As in 2008, they are smart and talented professionals who look like America and represent the ideals of the Democratic Party. I also remain committed to honoring those who came before me and creating a path for those who are coming next. I stand on the shoulders of great women like Fannie Lou Hamer and my mentor and friend Alexis Herman, the first African American woman to serve as CEO of the Democratic Convention.

The one thing that will never change is the ultimate goal to formally nominate the individuals that will go on to become president and vice president. Once again, we are fortunate to have two excellent candidates for president. As President Obama serves out the remainder of his historic presidency, it’s up to us to make sure his legacy lives on by electing someone who shares our vision and the vision for our nation. I am here — this staff is here — to position that candidate for success in November. No matter where you find yourself on July 25th, I hope you’ll join us.

The Democratic National Convention will be held July 25th — 28th in Philadelphia, PA. Questions? Feel free to tweet us at @DemConvention

--

--

Heather Barmore
Democratic National Convention

Writing and watching C-SPAN. Bylines at The Toast, HuffPo, The Guardian, Tue/Night, Refinery29, and more.