Why I Want to Say “Madam President” Come January

Gabby Giffords
Democratic National Convention
1 min readJul 28, 2016

Last night, I walked onto the stage at the Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia and said I’m why I’m voting for Hillary Clinton this November. I hope you’ll take a moment to read the what I had to say.

Thank you very much,

Hello fellow Democrats!

What a crowd!!

I’m honored to be here today.

We have important work ahead of us.

Work that will determine the future of our country.

Are you ready? I’m ready.

In Congress, I learned a powerful lesson.

Strong women get things done.

Hillary is tough.

Hillary is courageous.

She will fight to make our families safer.

In the White House, she will stand up to the gun lobby.

That’s why I’m voting for Hillary!

Speaking is difficult for me…

But come January, I want to say these two words,

“Madame President.”

Thank you very much.

--

--

Gabby Giffords
Democratic National Convention

Proudly served Arizona's 8th District in the United States Congress 2007-2012. Co-founded Giffords. Married to @CaptMarkKelly.