Thinking About Investing in Wigl, the Company Looking To Make Limitless Universal Wireless Charging?

Caleb Naysmith
Democratizing.Finance
7 min readMar 4, 2022

--

This company wants to make batteries a thing of the past, but is it worth $147 million?

Photo by Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

Let me start by saying that this was mostly from asking various experts in the space, and doing my own personal research. I am not an expert, and some of this is most likely not entirely accurate, might be missing context, etc. I say this to say, do your own research, take this with a grain of salt, and do your own research.

Further, If I have said something wrong, then feel free to correct me in the comments. Now, I wouldn’t be saying this if I didn’t believe it or form this opinion, so I think I am correct, but again, I am not an expert.

The Product

As was discussed, they claim to be able to use a beam array to beam energy from a power source to a receiver that can then be converted and charge your phone. Instead of having to be connected to a wall and using a chord to transfer power from the wall through a chord to your phone, they want to beam energy from the wall, make a receiver phone case that receives the energy, then that charges your phone. Beaming energy is not a new concept, and has been around for a while. It’s pretty easy, if you know what you’re doing, to buy an energy beam and a receiver and…

--

--

Caleb Naysmith
Democratizing.Finance

Head of Startup News at Benzinga, Founder of Democratizing.Finance — J.D., Army Officer, and writing about Startups and Equity Crowdfunding!