How To Face The World When They Assume You Are Racist

Bob Marley even said, “Before you point your finger make sure your hands are clean.”

Lori Brown, Writer
Dendrites

--

Image created using Midjourney.com AI with a prompt about crowds, youth, racism and technology.
Image created by the author using Midjourney AI with a prompt about crowds, youth, racism, and technology.

Navigating assumptions about identity

In a world where assumptions can hold tremendous power, I have spent the last few years facing a challenge that I have been afraid to speak up about. The collective outlook on the topic of white women is clear. Based on words, actions, and confessions the consensus seems to be that white women are bitchy, demanding, snobby, and self-serving. The most damaging belief however is that white women are mostly racist.

Basic safety

Ok here is a common example that will ring a familiar tone with many of you.

Sometimes I have to drive late at night through a more dangerous part of town. Yes, when I spot a potentially dangerous thug walking by, I always check to make sure I locked the doors. Is that racist? That depends.

Did you assume I was talking about a black man?

I never mentioned the skin of the man from my hypothetical example. I bet many of the people who read that just assumed I lock my doors when I see a black guy. I did not say it, nor did I imply it.

--

--

Lori Brown, Writer
Dendrites

I'm a mom, a wife, and a playful storyteller. Voted Top Blockchain Voice on Linkedin, and voted Best Human Ever by my two dogs. #RuffLife.