Voice Analytics

Daus Gonia
dengansenanghati
Published in
2 min readOct 27, 2014

--

Who in this world does not using internet nowadays? Well, still a lot of people, I know. But to be fair, the other half of the population or perhaps most of them knew and already using internet as well as social media on daily basis. Globalisation and the ever evolving technology are changing the way we live, changing the way we think, including advertising industry.

Most brands and companies have been taking their part in social media and digital landscape actively. This phenomenon also affects the country and brings out a handful of sounds-kinda-cool ‘job title’ such as: Social Media Manager, Digital Strategist, Social Media Officer, Web Analyst, etc. Along with the professions, it also generates new technology and tools, for instance: Social Media Analytics.

Social Media Analytics is the practice of gathering data from blogs and social media websites and analysing that information to make business decisions, including marketing strategy and many more. I am so not good in explaining things, therefore I am going to leave it here if you want to know deeper about the definition of Social Media Analytics: http://www.techopedia.com/definition/13853/social-media-analytics-sma.

After learning and experiencing a little bit in terms of gathering & analysing data from internet, I can say that Social Media Analytics has successfully gained my interest. I found these tools have been really helpful to me.

These recent years as I am working in the advertising industry, I am using Social Media Analytics tools to discover social media trends, hypes, determine target market, uncovering customer sentiment, and any other wondrous stuffs I can’t do it on my own.

Thus, it makes me think that…if this method are able to gather data from internet & social media, why don’t we use it to gather data & information from real people-to-people conversation?

Put microphone-installed devices in public places like train stations, bus stops, parks, cafes, etc, and record all conversation. After all the sounds from conversation are gathered, transform the voice data into text format and then use the same technology & algorithm that has been used in Social Media Analytics to analyse it. Possible, right?

The question is: has it been done by anyone yet?

If we do this, we can have a more specific-hi quality-dependable source of information which would be way more important and useful compared to Social Media Analytics. Come on, real conversation > social media conversation. No argue.

Step aside privacy policy and yadda-yadda law, it is really possible, is it not?

Well, I think I’d like to try answering that exact question. Does anyone want to join the quest?

--

--

Daus Gonia
dengansenanghati

So I heard you're a player? Oh.. relax. I'm a game developer. I create your game.