Meet the team: Daniel Nebauer

Naomi Cooper
DeNovocastrians 2022
1 min readOct 2, 2022

Advisory PhD member

Experience is what you get when you didn’t get what you wanted- Randy Pausch

Introduction
Daniel is a 28 year old, currently in his third year of his PhD from a Bachelor of Biotech with 1st class honours. Daniel grew up in Port Macquarie where he also completed his early education at Port public primary and high school.

Why did you join the team?
I joined the team to pass on some skills I’ve acquired throughout my candidature”.

What’s your role in the team?
I am a Supervisor. My role is to make sure the competing students stay on track with their projects and help answer any questions or help solve any experimental problems they may encounter.”

What inspires you?
“I have a lifelong interest in things we can’t see. I’ve always loved learning and I’m obsessed with knowing things nobody else does. I want to discover something new and useful.”

What you’ve accomplished with the team so far?
I head the Mass Spectrometry division of the team. We have made some headway into discerning benzoate metabolism through comparative proteomics.”

What do you do outside of this?
In his spare time Dan plays the piano and guitar for fun and cares for his pet snake called Slip.

--

--