Meet the team: Ella Stephens

Student member & Team leader

Naomi Cooper
DeNovocastrians 2022
2 min readAug 15, 2022

--

“we are all made living through stardust and sunlight.”

Introduction
Ella is a 20 year old, 3rd year biotechnology student. Hailing from Forster NSW where she went to high school across the bridge and spent her spare time at the beach or the lake.

Why did you join the team?
I joined the team so I could get some more lab experience and work with some people who I had already met who I knew would make the experience worthwhile.”

What’s your role in the team?
“As team leader, I basically present when presentations are needed. I give people advice on their streams and projects. I’m the undergrad point of contact for anyone who wants to collaborate I guess. Kind of like a team mum haha”

What have you accomplished with the team so far?
“Not much haha. I guess helping with the cloning of the clusters and transporters, in a non- wet work sense, I’ve helped with the overall project goals and early presentations.”

What inspires you?
“I’ve always been motivated by a search for knowledge and learning. Since I was a kid I have always enjoyed science and I want to learn more things about the world through science.”

What do you do outside of this?
“I am a cheerleader for the university team (Go SeaHawks!). I enjoy reading for days on end. I roller skate and swim in the surf for fun. I have a twin.”

--

--