Meet the team: Louis Nightingale

Naomi Cooper
DeNovocastrians 2022
2 min readSep 29, 2022

Advisory member & “Underlord of the Overloads”

“I go through life like a Karate Kid” — Britany Spears

Introduction
Louis is a 25 year old “general synthetic biology enjoyer”. He’s currently undertaking a PhD studying ultraviolet blocking compounds produced by cyanobacteria.

Why did you join the team?
I joined the team because I saw that there are some really exciting and important components of biology that don’t get as much attention as the standard stuff for undergrads; I hope more people can learn about and understand the cool world-changing stuff that's being done with biology today.”

What’s your role in the team?
I’m the lab advice giver, direction pointer and equipment/reagent finder.”

What inspires you?
“I'm inspired by the passion of the others around me, I love when someone goes into a 20 minute rant about a single enzyme or gets all excited about a beautiful agar plate they have made, we all love our work and that is amazing.”

What you’ve accomplished with the team so far?
We have learnt a lot about cloning, transformation and more about the bio-degradation of BTEX compounds. I’ve made a bunch of great friends and we have learnt so much together”

What do you do outside of this?
I love growing and looking for mushrooms, patting dogs, cats and the occasional frog. I also love looking at bottles of sunscreen and telling people why they’re bad.”

--

--