Parametric design in VR

jamil_M
depicted
Published in
4 min readMay 13, 2017

Today I did my math and the result was not what expected

Da Vinci versus Starlings

Above Da Vinci’s “Vitruvian man” of course and “Murmurating starlings, before landing during sunset near Tidhar, in the northern Israeli Negev desert, on February 12, 2014.” by Menahem Kahana/AFP/Getty Images

I blog here about designing virtual space directly in VR using Quill software from Oculus Story Studio. This post is about geometry and design in VR.

One of Quill’s most impressive feature is its quite infinite scalability, but that feature is making scale hard to control.

That was in my mind starting the few sketchs below, focusing on a geometry, generated and scaled by my real body.

I did it by drawing a simple dot at (0,0) coordinate (meaning my arm, holding right touch controler, folded over my chest), pushing it in front of me = translating it the lenght of my arm, repeating that a lot of time (100 dots ) in a layer, then duplicating that layer applying it the same translation…

Instinctively, I didn’t try to be precise, which is quite impossible when drawing in VR, but to be constant.

this sketch is based on a lign rather than a point

The other sketchs are based on the same principle…

The results were not what I expected, until I realised that I initiated an algorithmic process

I started this series, searching by the geometry a way to generate virtual space directly in VR.

And, I felt like doing parametric design before computer time, and that while immersed in VR a space computer generated. A kind of parametric handcraft.
strange feeling.

--

--

jamil_M
depicted

I’m a french/morrocan artist based in Paris. Architect, I have always been interested in the relation built environment/atmosphere.