Hi

I’m the writer of depression chronicles. This is what I’m about.

Ignacia
depression chronicles
2 min readMar 20, 2018

--

Yeah, always with a cigarette.

I was born in 1986. My parents weren’t married and separate when I was 11.

I smoke tabaco many times in the day. I smoke weed every time I can.
While I’m writing this I’m 31 years old, but that’s gonna change this Friday. I don’t know if I like birthdays. The attention makes me feel equally good and bad at the same time, with no middle point. But I really like cake.

I’m that type of person who can eat everything and still be skinny. Last year I took a pill that make me gain weight -like 30 lbs.- and I still look slim. I was kind of freaking out with this and luckily they change my medication and in a month I lost 4 pounds. Some people try to tell me that is the change in the metabolism because I’m getting all, but they don’t know anything.

I’ve been depressed since I was nine. I hold it ok until my sweet 15, with panic attacks so heavy that I can’t remember them. Only the pain in the muscles…
Then my 20s were a real nightmare. I pass from depressed to horribly depressed one time and another. No manic episodes; only sadness and panic. Anxiety. I still have it.

My 30s have been easier because I’m more in control now. And a doctor fund the magic combination of meds that I need it.
My 20s were a constant war with a couple earthquakes here and there. Now I’m looking at the remains of my nation to gather the pieces that survive all the rockiness.

This year I’m doing better, maybe. I don’t have a job but I been using my time to materialize a lot of things, like doing a podcast with my best friend, start to write here in medium, do exercise, and take care of my mother’s backyard.

Now I’m writing
- Because I need to make writing an habit
- Have no experience writing in english, but I’ll never learn if not practice.
- I wanna try to share the experience of living with depression and all the things I have learn through my lifetime. Sometimes will be humor, and never expect self-help bullshit.
- I’m trying to write a book about this and I need this training; thinking in this.
- ’Cause in a way I’m trying to make sense for all the years I lose in the trenches.
- Show how normal this can be.
- Hopefully know more people and start a conversation.

When I think in more things to put here, I’ll write more. I wanna be transparent in this exercise. So here we go.

--

--

Ignacia
depression chronicles

Chilean-Palestinian writer with a lot of opinions, currently learning how to express them in english.