In DEPTH with: Ivory

Depth
Depth.Music
Published in
3 min readJun 5, 2017

Ivory gave us 5 min of his time, to talk about his new project “NOCTURNAL”.

This is your 4th EP, how are you feeling about it?

It’s a surprise for me. Ivory is a project born 3 years ago that was mainly focused on dj’ing, it’s only later that I thought about starting producing music. My first release (on Offering Recordings) came out October 2016, I would have never tought to have 4 projects in such a short time.

You do host an event in Milan called Nowhere, and just had the season closing. How was your first year as promoter?

The season was amazing. “Nowhere” is an intimate event near Milano and we do love it just as it is. We believe that the event happens in the right dimension for a perfect clubbing experience.

It was a lot of work but it gave us the opportunity to be noticed by Dude Club and Circolo Magnolia, who later invited us for showcases in Milano. Right now we are working on the new season with even more exciting artists.

The Nocturnal EP has more darker influences then your previous works why is that?

Writing music for me is absolutely essential. It’s the best way to express my feelings. Nocturnal is the fruit of a very dark, bitter and meditative moment of my life. It also shows my transformation and redemption.

Describe Depth with a fruit , color or emotion?

For me Depth is like a pineapple. It has a single body and a juicy fruit from which many different leaves come out. The overall result is really unique.

What is coming up for Ivory?

After Nocturnal, I have a release coming up on the Canadian label “Plaisires Sonores”. I’m excited as it’s my first release overseas…

Ivory’s Nocturnal out now on Beatport:

Cover artwork by Yazmin Huerta

https://www.facebook.com/yazminhuerta.art/

--

--