May Nights

Hanne Pearce
depth of field
Published in
1 min readMay 6, 2020
Photo: Hanne Pearce

The nights are getting warmer. The snow has melted, the grass is green and the bugs have yet to come out in full force. Tonight the moon was full and bright in the sky outside my window, so took my camera out on the lawn with my tripod to do some travelling. As I tinkered with my gear, I hummed this song by Canadian singer and songwriter Sarah Slean (I am a huge fan, you will find). There is something appropriate about the lyrics and the way I feel in these strange pandemic days. It is melodic and beautiful and yet isolated, contemplative and jarring. It speaks to the collective feelings of many of us, I think. There is a collective rawness to emotion these days. A feeling like we have been disrupted by this thing, nature, that in fact, we are just a small part of.

Hanne

Originally published at https://www.hannepearcephotography.ca on May 6, 2020.

--

--

Hanne Pearce
depth of field

Librarian by day, freelance photographer and aspiring poet by night. See: hannepearcephotography.ca