How to Zoom In and Out in VS Code (Plus an Optional Extension)

I love the Zoom Bar extension for VS Code, but you don’t need it be able to zoom in and zoom out.

Dr. Derek Austin 🥳
Derek Develops

--

Photo by Nick Shandra on Unsplash

Since I’ve been streaming about programming, I’ve been using a 10px font size in my VS Code settings and then zooming in as I code.

In VS Code, zooming in also increases the interface size, while the font size setting does not, so I like to make my interface more readable.

The Zoom Bar extension tells me my zoom in the status bar at the bottom of my VS Code window, and I can click to change the zoom level.

But you don’t need Zoom Bar to become a zoom master; just use these keyboard shortcuts for VS Code:

  • View: Reset Zoom
    Ctrl + NumPad0
  • View: Zoom In
    Ctrl + =
  • View: Zoom Out
    Ctrl + -

You may realize that these are the same Zoom In and Zoom Out shortcuts as for Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome, except in the browsers the reset zoom is Ctrl +…

--

--

Dr. Derek Austin 🥳
Derek Develops

I write about real-world programming career advice, MongoDB vs. PostgreSQL, Git, React, JavaScript, VS Code, TypeScript, and Next.js. Doctor of Physical Therapy