Scottish National Museum Of Modern Art

Douglas Jones
DES07118 Visual Research Methods
2 min readDec 4, 2017

When visiting the Scottish National Museum Of Modern Art I was firstly very intrigued and interested by seeing the building itself. The building felt so grand and stood out to me and this furthered my curiosity when viewing the art work inside. Its fair to say after going round the gallery there was one stand out piece that I was still very unsure about. The reason Iwas unsure about it is because i have so many questions. The piece is called Feuille de vigne femelle by Marcel Duchamp.

The bronze piece on the right is the piece I was previously speaking about. Between the years 1950 and 1954 Duchamp created 4 erotic objects and the Scottish National Museum of Modern Art owns 2 of them. Galvanised plaster was the original material of the erotic objects but bronze is what material can be seen to the left. Its said that Duchamp kept one of the casts for himself and gave the other as a gift to his photographer Man Ray who was moving away. On the facts about the piece at the gallery it said to this day it is still a mystery as to how the cast of women genitalia was made. As some say it was from fake or real genitalia.

As stated before I feel slightly indecisive about this piece and have questions. For example, is there a deeper meaning behind the erotic objects, possibly not. Also, it seems like an odd farewell present to give to someone. And finally how was the cast made? These are a few questions I found myself asking after viewing the pieces by Duchamp.

--

--