SKID KNIFES

Douglas Jones
DES07118 Visual Research Methods
2 min readDec 4, 2017

I am writing this story due my minor obsession with SKID knifes. And by minor I mean I am very, very engrossed by them.

SKID robinia

I found SKID Knives by LIGNUM first on pintrest and instantly they stood out and seemed very different to regular kitchen knives. This made me look into them more and on their website it says. ‘ LIGNUM is a Product Design Agency specializes in ecological sustainable product ideas. As the age-old saying goes: Timing is everything. We came together at the right moment to produce something truly spectacular.’The knifes are made from 97% wood and the rest made from high alloyed carbon steel which is highly durable. I personally love the overall design of the knife. I like the woodland feel it has due to its majority wood percentage. The long curved handle and shape give it a very clean aesthetic look and I personally feel it would be very smooth and comfortable to hold.

The knifes do (annoyingly) go for $340 and not including their premium selection which are between $1000-$2000, as they are made from wood such as mahogany. So, the main reason Ihave brought these knifes to my blog and your attention is because I loved the unique twist LIGNUM done to a standard kitchen item and found it be very inspirational when designing since.

--

--