36 Days of Type

How I taught myself 3D software “Blender”

Varnika Verma
Bootcamp
4 min readMar 2, 2023

--

A to Z alphabets from 36 DAYS OF TYPE

One year back, while scrolling Instagram, I came across 36 DAYS OF TYPE. A 36 days celebration of typography and creativity, involving designers, visual artists and creatives from all fields in a global and simultaneous act of creativity around type and letter forms.

A challenge to create something new everyday, as a way to experiment new things by creating personal daily design challenges around typography and graphic design.

My Past 2D projects

While all of my past projects were done in 2D, I always wanted to make my artwork in 3D. I think having 3D abilities as a product designer in 2022 is really important and could widen my horizons and present options in Game design.

In 36 days of type, I taught myself to create 3D illustrations in different style using a free open-source 3D software called Blender. A tool set used for creating animated films, visual effects, art, 3D-printed models, motion graphics, interactive 3D applications, virtual reality, and, formerly, video games.

Here is the process and a summary of my project.

The Process

Step 1: Ideation

I took inspiration from the YouTube tutorials and Behance to proceed. Later, I made sketches of the concept of each letter on paper and searched for the tutorial to make it in 3D.

Varnika Verma Behance Profile

Step 2: Modeling

I used the “Box Modeling” method in Blender to create the 3D object.
Starting with a simple primitive (such a cube), I alter and subdivide it to make it more complex.

Modelling in Blender

Step 3: Materials

I added materials to give a low polygon and comic style.

Material in Blender

Step 4: Lighting

I used spot lights to give a stage look for every letter 3D illustration.

Step 5: Rendering

I rendered the 3D illustration by Blender’s built-in rendering engine ‘Cycles’.

Final Render “Cycles”

My Blender Journey

Initially, several days I devoted figuring out how to use Blender’s UI.

Blender UI

I created my first 3D model in Blender i.e. sushi and chopsticks by watching the YouTube tutorial by Polygon Runway.

Sushi and Chopsticks

I created many illustrations, watching tutorials and practicing daily for 36 days. I tried making different figures from real life.

Different figures

When i got little comfortable in using Blender, I tried sculpting in Blender. Sculpting initially was difficult, later it’s really a fun part. I recommend using Graphic Tablet for sculpting for precised artwork.

Sculpting the Ninja

As I researched about 3D modeling style, I found Low poly style more interesting. Polygon Runway tutorials really helped me in exploring Blender.

Isometric 3D illustrations
Isometric 3D illustrations

--

--

Varnika Verma
Bootcamp

Product Designer working with the startups 2+ year of working experience (internship + full time) Alumni NIT Bhopal