Architecture to UX Series — Which UX bootcamp should I pick?

The second in a series of articles answering common questions about my pivot from architecture to UX

Michelle Lee Chang
Bootcamp
4 min readOct 30, 2022

--

Photo of a scene from a fitness bootcamp
Photo by Meghan Holmes on Unsplash

Q: How did you decide which bootcamp to take?

During my Architecture to UX journey, it got to a point where basic coding classes after work and a human centred design paper online didn’t quite cut it. I wanted to commit to learning UX and building a robust portfolio with greater accountability.

A quick Google search for ‘ux bootcamps’ resulted in feeling all kinds of overwhelm. With my researcher hat on, I decided to define my criteria parameters.

My Criteria Parameters (What was I looking for):

🍱 Structured learning

  • Ideally I wanted a structured rather than a self learning programme where I could be guided by real life tutors alongside fellow students. The accountability and support from others was what I lacked from the online material I was using up to this point.

🔖 Project based programme

  • Beyond learning the foundations of UX, the main objective for investing into a bootcamp was the accountability and support I needed to create case studies for my portfolio. I was specifically looked out for courses that mentioned aiding in portfolio building. This is a detail that I also clarified with customer support if it wasn’t clear from the website content.

⏱️ Time / Length of Programme

  • Bootcamps can range from one week immersions to three months of full time study. Having saved up enough to last me at least 3 months, I was willing to take time off work and invest in full time study for that duration. I was also open to a shorter bootcamp if my other criteria were met.

💵 Cost

  • Bootcamps are not cheap! The ones I shortlisted were anything from a couple thousand NZ dollars to tens of thousands of dollars. A disclaimer here is that I am speaking from the year 2021 — so costs may have changed since then. My upper limit at the time was in the NZD$5000 range.

🌟 Proven success stories

  • Personal success stories from real life people has always been a pivotal factor to choosing where to invest my time and money. This criteria was largely collated by online sleuthing on Linkedin and community forums. Searching the specific course, I tracked down a few graduates of bootcamps I was considering and either stalked their career progression or reached out to them with a message.

Nice to Haves

🔗 Internships / industry connections

  • Some courses either include an internships following the programme or provide support into the industry after the course is complete. Since finding a job is usually the main objective for taking a bootcamp, an internship or support into the industry is a crucial leg up.

👩‍🏫 Tutors who had UX jobs / experience

  • Being taught by someone who really understands the industry and can empathise with the process of finding a job is an ideal way to gain both an amazing teacher and a potential mentor. Getting the tee on the tutors was largely a matter of researching the names listed on their website and even calling into customer support to ask about who would be teaching the next intake.

🤝 In person / local

  • A major nice to have was the ability to take the course in person and preferably in a similar timezone to where I was located.

Armed with this list I began to assess my options.

The international big names that came up often were General Assembly, Interaction Design Academy and Career Foundry. Being based in New Zealand, local academies included UX Gym, Mission Ready HQ and Harness Project.

My shortlist of options came down to:

My Final Decision

Call it destiny or luck, but the year I applied for the Mission Ready HQ Agile User Experience Design course, the fee was completely covered by the government for NZ citizens. Despite being a relatively new programme, it met all my criteria parameters including an internship with a local partner company following completion of the course. With major points in the cost department, it was a no brainer.

While my final decision feels abit like a cop out with the luck I had, hopefully my decision making process can still apply for those who are currently deciding which bootcamp to take!

Follow me for more articles in the Architecture to UX Series 😊

Other articles in the series:

The content of this article are my own personal opinions and do not in anyway reflect my current or past employers.

--

--

Michelle Lee Chang
Bootcamp

I write about ux and occasionally rant about my curly asian hair. www.miche.nz