Case study: Evening snack at my usual local restaurant- delicious corner 😋

Yogendra Danu
Bootcamp
Published in
4 min readJul 16, 2021

Customer experience map

It’s 6 pm already and I am done with my online classes. These are long sessions, but I’m enjoying it, and now it’s time for some snacks.

Ok, let’s go to my usual Local Restaurant.

But it’s raining right now and see what awesome weather, perfect for all rides.

Raining Shots by me

Let’s start this journey……

Stage 1: Travelling

Mask Check, Helmet check, and Scooter check.

Why Mask?

Right now we are suffering from a very dangerous virus (Covid-19) and a mask is a very important thing right now, please wear a mask whenever you go outside it will secure you and others as well.

Why Helmet?

Everyone knows Police will fine you, and I don’t have that much money right now😜, but on a serious note helmet is for your safety, and please don't drive 2 wheelers without a helmet.

My scooter looks a bit messy right now, I think it needs some service. But I don’t have time for that also 😜.

Ready to go pictures shot by me

Stage: Travelling

Touchpoints: Scooty and Helmet.

Emotion: 😍

My Experience: The weather is so nice and refreshing and I love the ride.

Stage 2: Arriving

I am at the restaurant right now, and it looks like they have just opened up after the afternoon break.

And there is no Crowd right now, perfect now I don't have to wait for a table. Usually, this place is always crowded but right now because of Covid-19 people didn’t come here often.

And I can see that this place is clean AF.

Restaurant photos

Stage: Arriving

Touchpoints: People and Restaurant

Emotion: 😐

My Experience: Ok, so I don’t have to wait for a table and everything is so clean.

Stage 3: Ordering

It’s time to order something I’m hungry right now.

Let’s see the menu card…

Mockup Source: https://designhooks.com/freebies/download-free-menu-card-psd-mockup/

There are a lot of things to eat, but right now I love to eat some Fast Food. I can see that there are options available for Fast Food.

Egg noodles 😋 look great.

And let’s grab something to drink, Pepsi or Frooti looks great.

Beverages

Stage: Ordering

Touchpoints: Menu card and people (Waiter)

Emotion: 😁

My Experience: Menu Card is looking awesome and there are lots of delicious things to order.

Stage 4: Eating

Ohh!!!

Just in 2 minutes the food is ready and served also.

Very fast service.

Meal Photos shot by me

😋 Oishī (Japanese vocabulary meaning Delicious)

The taste is awesome as usual and very happy right now 😁.

Eat Eat Eat Eat Eat Eat Eat Eat Eat Eat Eat Eat Eat Eat……

Where is my food?

I have just started eating 😭 and it’s already finished, but it was delicious😋.

reviewing the food

Stage: Eating

Touchpoints: Food, drinks, and restaurant.

Emotion: 😍

My Experience: The food is finger-licking delicious as always.

Stage 5: Payment

Time to pay….

The payment mode is online and offline, both Options are Available.

But, I prefer online because it’s easy to pay and don’t have to carry coins in my pocket.

Nice!!

Got a ScratchCard also 😂.

Payment methods

Stage: Paying

Touchpoints: My phone, Bar Code Scanner, and cashier.

Emotion: 😐

My Experience: Comfortable and easy to pay.

Let’s take a look at the Customer Journey Map.

Customer Experience Map

This is my Journey as a customer and from now on I can see things differently and from a different perspective.

And by observing everything every single spet in my journey, I feel like I am becoming more of a UX person and really like this.

And I started understanding how User Experience works and how it helps the designer and customers.

And hope you enjoyed this.

Thanks For Reading….

--

--