Figma x WorkLouder | Figma Creator Micro keyboard setup and review!

Karen Tang
Bootcamp
Published in
6 min readJun 17, 2024

In collaboration with Figma, Work Louder, a Montréal-based company that makes products fun and exciting, created the Figma Creator Micro Keyboard. Shout out to Mattia and Michael for doing what they do! They also offer a non-Figma version if you aren’t too jazzed about the color choices in this collaboration. When the Figma Creator Micro first got announced in December 2023, I was pretty excited. The aesthetics of the product felt like a definition of true beauty. I mean, look at the gorgeous colors of the keycaps against the white board and the LED lights that shine through the translucent outer rim. The smiley face in the corner for switching between layers was also a cute touch! But let’s get into more about this little keyboard and if it’s actually something designers need.

A macro keyboard with colorful keycaps done in collaboration with Figma.
Figma Creator Micro product shot | Photo by WorkLouder team

What is the Figma Creator Micro?

The Figma Creator Micro is a macro keyboard that allows you to determine and assign a single or series of keyboard shortcuts to a single key. So basically, it’s a shortcut keyboard. In the product release, Figma goes into depth about the story behind the development of the Figma Creator Micro and how it “makes designing feel so much more tactile”. Figma wanted to bring designers a product that could bring joy into everyday designing and support building a muscle memory for your custom shortcuts instead of actively memorizing 150 shortcuts. It’s surprising to think there are that many shortcuts, I don’t even use 20 shortcuts on a daily basis.

Unboxing the package

After almost 6 months of waiting, I got my hands on the package. The bright yellow box brightened up my day upon first sight and it felt perfect. The box was super sturdy and screamed Figma with it’s branding and fun personality. The keyboard is already set up with the red, “pink”, purple, blue, and green Figma colored keycaps and includes the separate 30 Figma icons and 15 solid colors keycaps. You will only find the Creator Micro keyboard inside the box as it does not include a USB-C cable which is required for using the product. It took me a while to even understand that it needed one. The keyboard weighs a good amount and can be considered heavy if you have to lug it around for travelling. Putting the keyboard next to my regular keyboard and work setup worked perfectly. It fit into my aesthetic of black and purple as the keycaps can be taken off and customized to your liking.

Figma Creator Micro packaging

Setting up your keyboard

After admiring the keyboard, it was time to set it all up. Now, here is where I got a little lost. They included a quick start scan me QR code that directs users to https://worklouder.cc/setup/ with 2 steps. Sounds easy right? Apparently not for me. I only read the words “Open VIA” and not “Plug in” so I was pushing all sorts of buttons thinking it had an internal battery and was Bluetooth enabled. It was not until I re-read the instructions 10 times, that I realized it needed a USB-C cable to be powered on. Now that I got it powered on, all I have to do is the mapping! As someone who does not have any experience in mapping, I struggled, but got a hang of it after a while. I’d take a look at Work Louder’s video on creating macros with VIA or Meshtimes unboxing & setting up review. If those are still confusing, here’s my quick “cheat sheet” when you have authorized your device through VIA. Important keys to know for each operating system:

| Description    | Macbook      | Windows     |
| ------------- | ------------ |-------------|
| CMD | G(KC_#) | |
| Windows | | G(KC_#) |
| CTR | C(KC_#) | C(KC_#) |
| Shift | S(KC_#) | S(KC_#) |
| OPT | A(KC_#) | |
| ALT | | A(KC_#) |
| CMD + OPT | LAG(KC_#) | |
| CTR + ALT | | LCA(KC_#) |

You can feel free to experiment on what keys should go where, but I always like to plan it out. Ted Kulakevich, recreated the Creator Micro in Figma so you can use it as a reference or planning tool. The image below shows how I planned out two different layers with the same shortcuts, but one on Macbook and the other on Windows.

Template of keyboard setup for Macbook and Windows
Personal setup of Figma shortcuts on the Creator Micro

Shortcuts I use

  • LAG(KC_LEFT)/C(KC_PGUP) = Switch tabs or pages to the left
  • LAG(KC_RIGHT)/C(KC_PGDN) = Switch tabs or pages to the right
  • G(KC_R)/C(KC_R) = Rename selected layer
  • M1/M0 = CTR + ALT + A + ENTER = Multi-edit
  • G(KC_F5)/C(G(KC_PENT) = Turning on/off system screen reader
  • G(KC_F)/C(KC_F) = Find and search your entire file
  • V = Change cursor back to move
  • LAG(KC_B)/LCA(KC_B) = Break component instance
  • LAG(KC_K)/LCA(KC_K) = Create component
  • G(KC_BSLS)/C(KC_BSLS) = Show/hide UI
  • LAG(KC_C)/LCA(KC_C) = Copy style
  • LAG(KC_V)/LCA(KC_V) = Paste style

You might have noticed that I used a macro key for the multi-editing shortcut. When you use a sequence of keys, you’ll need to setup a macro and record or type out the keys you’ll be using.

Screenshot of a sequence of keys used to create a macro on the VIA program
Sequence of keys recorded for a macro for my Windows Figma setup

Customization and colors!

With a translucent shell, white board (with Figma’s logo and cute smiley face), silver and black knob, Figma keys, and a handful of black keys, the customization is endless. As you are provided with 45 different keycaps, you can have more than millions of options on how you want to show off your style. I styled mine with black and purple keycaps because those are the colors across all my tech products. Look how sleek it looks!

Different angles of the Figma Creator Micro keyboard

Why you should or shouldn’t own a Creator Micro

The Creator Micro is definitely a fun product to have on your desk setup but not one you necessarily need. After a couple weeks of using the keyboard, I didn’t find it life changing to my workflow. It also didn’t speed up my design process all that much.

The Creator Micro did become my reminder to use shortcuts more often and surprisingly enough, it encouraged me to rename my layers more just because it became easier to do that action.

If you’re just starting out as a designer, you probably do not need a Creator Micro. But if you’re still adamant and interested in one, why not invest in one before they sell out? It looks like the next batch of Figma Creator Micros will ship out in October 2024. Technology is always fun to play with. Just don’t have the expectation that your workflow process is going to speed up significantly. I do believe that the Figma Creator Micro was overhyped, but it is a well-made product which it deserves all the recognition for. I’ll still be using my Creator Micro for Figma, Final Cut Pro, or any other software because who wants to memorize shortcuts anyways!

Why you should own a Creator Micro: You love technology and having gadgets on your desk.

Why you shouldn’t own a Creator Micro: You think it will change your life and make you an even better designer.

Customized Figma Creator Micro keyboard
Figma Creator Micro with Rainbow Swirl 6 light effect

--

--

Karen Tang
Bootcamp

UX UI Designer I at EBSCO Stacks and design system enthusiast. Excited to share all things UX! https://www.linkedin.com/in/jmintang/