Good design & bad design

Yogendra Danu
Bootcamp
Published in
6 min readJun 25, 2021

What is design?

Design (made by me)

The word “design” comes from the Latin word designare. Designare is said to have meant to draw a plan. That’s why initially the word design was used in this sense of a plan on paper.

The meaning of the word Design changes gradually with the times. The word first came at the start of the 20th century. Over roughly 100 years since then, the meaning of the word has changed gradually. Another characteristic of this word is that it has different meanings to different people.

But nowadays, the word design means realizing a concept, idea, or theory into a Drawing, plan, specification, model that ultimately gives the directions and resolves the real-time problems of people.

What makes a design good or bad?

Good or bad ( from Google)

We are covered with designs all around us, good and bad both. Understanding and analyzing the difference and the importance of each in their respective ways are what lead to good design.

When a design can not satisfy, solve, and resolve a person's need, it will lead to a bad design.

When the design lacks information, characteristics, and the real message, we will count it as a bad design.

Some of the Good Designs:

  1. The packet of this snack:
SNACK Packaging

I think that this is a good design.

It is giving me the right information about this product. It already shows every ingredient used in this product so I don't have to be conscious about what I'm going to get in this pack.

Information like quantity, quality, nutritional information, MRP, and expiry date also. These pieces of information are looking clean and clear.

And the packaging is good, the logo placement is good, and all the important information is printed on the front.

2. Helmet:

Helmet

This is an example of good design to me because it is very comfortable for me to use, and I always use it for daily purposes because the design is very promising and honest and I have a great user experience with this product.

There are some good characteristics about this product like:

Durability: I am using this product for around 3 to 4 years and still it looks fine and good for another couple of years.

Air ventilation: Air ventilation is one of the most important characteristics of the helmet and in this product the air ventilators are designed perfectly. These air ventilators are used to pass the air through the helme,t which helpscoolg your head inside the helmet.

There is a switch for air vents also so it also looks good. And it gives you more ways to use the design according to yourself.

3. Key-chain:

Key-Chain

The first look of this product is very cool.

And one of the most interesting things about this product is that this is designed as a spinner you can play with.

That’s why I think this is under good design.

4. Air Fragrance pocket:

Air Fragrance pack

I think that this product has a good design.

because the packet has a very good visual design, the packet is compact in size, the color choice is good and there is a little hook to pace it anywhere in the room.

Honorable Mention: This smells gorgeous.

5. Gaming mouse:

Gaming Mouse

This gaming mouse is very comfortable to use and its visuals are also looking very fantastic.

The size is perfect, it has RGB lighting and also has 2 additional buttons placed on the left side of the mouse for more control over the screen.

Also, the touch is smooth and the functionality is also great.

Overall I think this is under good design

Some of the Bad Designs:

  1. i-pad charger:
I-pad Charger

When I look at this charger, the only thing that comes to my mind is WHY.

Why it is like that.

I can’t say such things because maybe there is some important use of this product like that but still I can’t be able to understand why it is like that.

That’s why for me this is a bad design.

2. Bluetooth Earphones :

Bluetooth Earphones

The overall design is great and it very handy.

And in the description, it said that in full charge it will work for at least 30 hours, but after using this product I realized that it doesn't even work for half a day.

And there is no battery indicator on the case that’s why I can't be able to analyze that how much charge is left to recharge it, and that’s why sometimes the battery was drained between important situations and that was not a good user experience.

And that is not promising and honest in my opinion.

3. Oneplus chargers:

Oneplus Charger

I think this very common problem for one-plus users because the charger we get with the device is not normal.

The size is huge compare to other chargers.

That’s why sometimes it creates problems like only a single charger can be plugged into an extension board and that was mine.

while I am using an extension board only I can plug my charger because it covers all spaces around the board so that no other person can plug his/her charger or any other wire.

That’s why I think that this is a bad design.

4. Bottle:

Bottle

This product is very huge in size because it is very difficult to travel with this product while having small carry bags and has no grip section on the bottom part of the product, so it's very hard to grab it from the bottom.

That’s why I think this product has a bad design.

5. Computer Mouse:

computer mouse

While I was purchasing this product it looks very nice and promising, but when it arrives this product is looking totally different from the pictures on Flipkart, it’s very very small in size and the build quality was very cheap and look wise also it doesn’t look great.

And at that time I was thinking that this is a visual fraud.

That’s why this is under bad design.

Thanks for Reading,

By Yogendra.

--

--