How I use ChatGPT in my UX job

Hannah Guo
Bootcamp
Published in
4 min readNov 17, 2023

The startup I work at is using prompt engineering to build its product. So, naturally, it influenced my frequency of using generative AI in my work. Here, I will share how I use ChatGPT in my UX role, particularly in UX research.

When you google how generative AI can help with UX design, you will find all these articles throwing big words, such as Automate design tasks or Streamline design process. But, seriously, what does that even mean? Could it be more specific? So, let me share some things I tried and worked well.

Write survey questions and options

If I am unsure about what questions to ask in the survey, I can explain to ChatGPT the purpose of my survey and what information I would like to gather. ChatGPT can provide a list of questions to serve as a starting point for my surveys, saving me time in thinking about how to phrase them.

Example prompt:

If I already know the questions I want to ask but struggle with writing the options for multiple-choice questions, I can also turn to ChatGPT. I find it helpful when I need to ensure that the questions cover all possible options.

For instance, if I want to ask “What type of activity do you enjoy going on a date?” in the survey, I can ask ChatGPT to suggest common categories of date activities. It will provide me with plenty of inspiration.

Summarize responses to open-ended questions.

Now, after I receive the responses to the survey research, I don’t want to drown in open-ended replies. I will copy them into ChatGPT and ask it to summarize them for me.

Example prompt:

Summarize key points in secondary research

Similar to the above, ChatGPT is excellent at reading text and summarizing, so I give it the articles I am reading, which saves me a lot of time. However, I make sure to clearly state the purpose of my research and the information I want to obtain from the articles. Otherwise, ChatGPT may not provide the key points that I care about the most.

Example prompt:

The article is about good and bad places for relationship advice.

Then I will find my answers listed neatly in bullet points.

Content writing/ UX writing

This is where ChatGPT really shines, right? I used it to draft the content of our website landing page. Prior to writing, I tell it the context of my text and the tone of the writing.

Example prompt:

Checking common practice for specific pages, features, or flows

Check-out/payment flows will be a good example of this. We want to ensure that our design aligns with users’ habits and provides a familiar experience similar to other websites. In this case, we don’t need to get too creative — sticking to common practices is the way to go. So I ask ChatGPT to design the flows and pages for me.

Example prompt:

Then follow the steps it provides me, and I won’t have to worry about whether I missed any steps.

Crafting Color Palette

I use ChatGPT 3.5, which does not support images. However, I can still work with colors by communicating in hex code.

Example Prompt:

It’s not perfect, but it’s a good starting point.

To conclude

Besides summarizing and writing, ChatGPT is also good at identifying commonalities and patterns. When writing the prompt, make sure to give it clear context and requirements to get the best results.

ChatGPT can really save time at work, but still depend on your own judgment to find the best solution.

--

--

Hannah Guo
Bootcamp
Writer for

I'm a UX research, with a background of social-anthropology. Here to share my thouhgts.