How to craft your UX elevator pitch

Gina Raduski
Bootcamp
Published in
4 min readSep 6, 2022

Several years ago, while trying to find my niche as an artist, I came across these five questions about how to know if you can successfully start a business. The theory is that if you can answer these questions clearly, you’re on track to success, and I thought I would pass on them to you.

An empty elevator

Although they aren’t specifically set up to create an elevator pitch, I think they work great for honing in on an area of focus. If you’re a little unclear about which area of UX is your “sweet spot”, maybe this will help!

  1. Who are you?
  2. What do you do?
  3. Who do you do it for?
  4. Why do they need it?
  5. How are they changed by what you do?

They sound like easy questions, but when you break them down… well, they’re still simple. I tend to overcomplicate my life by trying to learn everything to be able to show my talents, and that tends to do the opposite.

After learning UX design, I didn’t know where I wanted to focus, so I learned about animation, branding, interaction design, design systems, CMS, web design, etc. I took classes in HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, and as much as I was learning, I felt like I was getting further away from employment.

When I came across these questions, I realized that I needed to simplify everything. Yes, I always want to continue learning my craft, and add new skills once they are developed, but until then, it’s better to leave them off the CV, resume, or portfolio site, and focus on the skills I have right now. The “KISS” method is best for design.

Let’s build an elevator pitch using these questions!

Who are you?

This straightforward question is about the kind of design you do. Are you a UI, UX, product designer, brand designer, etc.?

Keep it simple, and limited to one or two categories. Even though I have an interest in those other aspects of design, and may do them fairly well, it’s better to make it as easy as possible for recruiters to comprehend my skill set, in a split second.

Ie, “My name is Gina Raduski and I’m a UX designer.”

What do you do?

This seems like the same question, but it really hones in on exactly what I do. The title UX designer takes on a lot of different responsibilities and tasks and provides an opportunity to show the area of design that I identify with the most.

Ie, “My name is Gina Raduski and I’m a UX designer. I design websites and apps.” Again, keep this answer as simple and clear as possible, while inducing an image for the reader about who you are and what you do. We’ll continue adding to it as we go.

Who do you do it for?

This tells the reader who you are trying to reach.

Ie, “My name is Gina Raduski and I’m a UX designer. I design websites and apps for small businesses.”

Why do they need it?

This is an important question to answer and has to be based on the research you’ve compiled. When you can lay out a user problem with a proposed solution, you become a problem solver, and that’s valuable.

Ie, “My name is Gina Raduski and I’m a UX designer. I design websites and apps for small businesses so their potential clients can find them.

How are they changed by what you do?

This one gives you insight into the value of the solution you propose. If you can answer this, based on real circumstances, you will be ahead of the game.

Ie, “My name is Gina Raduski and I’m a UX designer. I design websites and apps for small businesses so their potential clients can find them and hire them.

You can go on to talk about how a website is the most effective way to increase sales and reach more people, but the key is to paint an image of success for all parties involved. Tweak the wording until your phrasing is a little more colorful, but keep it as simple as possible.

By answering all of these questions, you will show that you understand the point of being a UX designer. Offer an introduction, a solution for a problem, and the results of your actions. Don’t go much further than this for your pitch as it’s meant to pique interest and start a conversation.

Good luck in your job search, and keep practicing. You can do it!

--

--

Gina Raduski
Bootcamp

I design websites for small businesses using UX superpowers, the ancient art of feng shui, and the magic of Webflow…. and I write about it!