How Zomato eases the decision of what food to order

Sneham Pal
Bootcamp
Published in
3 min readMay 6, 2023

Zomato is one of the big players in the food delivery industry. Zomato clocks around 1.3–1.5 million orders per day on an average. This is no chance. Let’s see how Zomato uses near perfect UX to enhance the ordering experience.

Let me tell you a situation. Lets say its night and I am tired from everything. Ma is not at home and I am staaarving ! So I check my phone and Zomato has given a notification on some discount offer and I am sold. I immediately open up the app.

UX Insight 1-Internal and External triggers : Zomato’s notifications are perfectly timed to make more conversions. It perfectly aligns the internal trigger ( getting hungry ) with the external trigger ( discount notification ) thus increasing the notification conversion rate.

So, after opening up the app I see a message on the screen while the app loads :

UX Insight 2-Normal loading spinners are boring and tend to add uncertainty. I love how Zomato uses loading time to add value to users. A really nice way to show it cares.

Scope of improvement-Although the initiative is great, I believe the copy could be more focused towards getting the users excited about ordering in. Something like : ‘fetching the best restaurants and dishes around you’, ‘bringing the freshest and most delicious food to you’ etc.

Okay so now I choose a restaurant to order from and I see a plethora of options to choose from and I am in a fix.

paradox of choice

The huge number of dishes creates a paradox of choice which makes it difficult to choose. Now there’s something you should know about me - I am really picky when it comes to food. I have my own reservations and preferences. This is where Zomato helps me decide :

(a) Picture of the dish : Basic visual priming but really helps me
decide. Also, appeals to multiple senses.

(b) Recipe : Now this is very important for me because it tells me what
ingredients were used and whether it aligns with my preferences.

( c ) Individual Dish ratings : Lets say if I am torn between multiple options and don’t know which one to choose, I can rely on how other people have rated the dish. Social proof helps.

I know these features are very obvious but saves me a lot of psych when I am hungry and cannot decide what to order.

Hey, thanks for reading this. Leave your thoughts in the comments. Would love to read them.

Always up for an interesting conversation. Ping me up at — sneham.designs@gmail.com

Show me some love at LinkedIn | Twitter

--

--