Interview Survival Kit for the Budding Product Manager

Amy Ru
Bootcamp
Published in
13 min readOct 31, 2022

--

If you can only read one PM interview article, read this one.

Four years ago when I decided even the big guy up there couldn’t stop me from becoming a product manager, there were virtually no resources out there for me. All my friends thought product managers were the people who checked inventory on aisle 7 for traffic cones in Home Depot. Now, times have certainly changed, but I thought I’d make your life easier by compiling shortlists to existing resources out there, along with a handy prep timeline.

Here’s the breakdown of this article:

  1. I’ll walk you through every single type of PM interview that exists.
  2. I’ll prescribe you a study plan depending on how much time you have to prep.
  3. I’ll provide a list of external resources, question banks, and prep communities you can join today. Like right now.
I’m seriously considering auditioning to be the new Bear Grylls of the PM world.

100% Guaranteed to be in your Interview

These sections are definitely gonna be in your interview, so if you only have time to cram a few things in your big brain you need to know this stuff. I’ve added a ⭐️ emoji for the resources you should focus on, and a ⏰ emoji for additional good reads — if you have time.

Behavioral Interview

--

--

Amy Ru
Bootcamp

Product manager by ☀️, career coach by 🌙. I write to create resources for aspiring product managers to access what I wish I had during college.