Material Depot : App UX Case Study

Antony Edward Sachin
Bootcamp
Published in
4 min readSep 16, 2024

This is an app UX case study of the app project I had done as part of 10kdesigners Cohort 8. This project helped me a lot to learn the different aspects that one should think while designing an app. Your feedbacks would really help me to make it better and understand things better.

Deliverables

  • Figma prototype link
  • Figma file link

Screens Designed

  • Onboarding screens
  • Home screen
  • Search screen
  • Categories screen
  • Options screen
  • Product screen
  • Cart screen
  • Payments screen

Personas

  • Architects
  • Interior Designers
  • House owners

Typeface and colors used

Typefaces and colors

Brief

Research

  • Had gone through Material Depot’s website.
  • Looked at the flows and of ecommerce apps in India which is Flipkart, Amazon, etc.
  • Looked at the flows of Ikea which has a similar niche.
  • Did a research using notionsmith AI for creating personas and their problems.
Notionsmith

Wireframes

Userflow

Iterations

Started iterating after a few wireframes.

First Draft

onboarding
home, search, product and profile
cart and payment

I had submitted this for a critique session during the cohort and it got 2/5 Bhel points (lol). They suggested me things to improve and I knew I had to do a lot of work to get better.

Final Draft

After the cohort ended I got busy with my work. I really wanted to rework and make improvements in this project but I kept procrastinating and because of a small push from a person started working on this project and the case study.

I built these designs by taking lots of references from flipkart and amazon. The main changes I made from the previous version was to implement auto layout onto the designs, making the nav bar better and the hierarchy of the product page.

I know there’s yet a lot of work to be done to make it better, your feedbacks may help me achieve that and also in general I would be making changes to this work in future as I gain more knowledge in product design.

Deliverables

Figma prototype link

(Incase this link is not working I have shared the link in Figma file’s final page. Still working on the prototype’s animation part)

Figma file link

(I would really love to get your feedbacks, it would really help me understand the aspects I missed out and help me improve in my designs.)

Thank you

Thank you everyone who viewed my case study, this is my second case study and hoping to make more and better designs next time. A special thanks to 10kdesigners ( Abhinav Chhikara and Jayneil Dalal) and my mentor (Vishant Kumar) who have helped me all through the cohort and even after the cohort ended, really proud to be part of the 10k community.

My LinkedIn

PS: If you hold clap button it can go up to 50 claps per user.

--

--

Antony Edward Sachin
Bootcamp

Hey Guys!!! I am a UI/UX designer who transitioned from sales to design this year. I am still learning a lot about The Design Realm as a whole.