Navigating the UX gap

Liberty
Bootcamp

--

UX is a rapidly growing industry in the tech space. Bootcamps and training programs churn out thousands of new UX grads each month. Yet, many companies and senior designers are resistant to embracing them or offering them a paid opportunity. There are plenty of open UX jobs as well as a steady stream of new UX professionals, but too many are stuck in limbo between education and employment. I refer to this phenomenon as the UX Gap.

There are plenty of open UX jobs as well as a steady stream of new UX professionals, but too many are stuck in limbo between education and employment.

In the past 2 years, I’ve had the privilege of offering advice and mentorship to dozens of dope professionals entering the UX space. All of them bring great questions and enthusiasm for navigating this new phase of their journey.

In our conversations, I’ve noticed some common questions and themes that I want to share with others in UX that may have them. Keep in mind, this article is based on my own personal experience and perspective of transitioning into UX. It’s always worth talking to and learning from multiple people at different levels of the UX profession.

How do I stand out among other applicants?

  • Be intentional about the types of jobs you’re looking for
    Put your full energy into applying to those and make sure you’ve done everything you can to be positioned well for them. Five really solid applications are better than 500 flimsy ones. There’s an excellent Twitter thread on this exact topic by Kaushik Murali that I highly recommend reading.
Tweet by Kaushik Murali about how junior designers can figure out where to apply
  • Be willing to broaden the scope of role and location
    Especially now, there are tons of great remote opportunities. You may not get your dream UX position right away, but stay open to paths that could lead you to it. Design Twitter is a great place to learn about job opportunities. If you’re not using it as a resource, you could be missing out!
Tweet by Tanner Christensen about job opportunities for junior designers
  • Keep learning new skills
    Many UX training programs are just the beginning and not meant to be everything you’ll need to know. You should have a plan to keep building out your skills once your program or current training ends. If you don’t feel confident about your current resume and portfolio, start with building out those skills.

Personal Example: One of the jobs I was really excited about required Design Thinking/Facilitation. My UX Bootcamp didn’t cover that skill in-depth. Luckily after I finished my program, I went to a 2-day workshop on Liberating Structures to dive into Facilitation after graduation. I fell in love with Design Thinking and started seeking out meetups to practice facilitating it. My affinity and passion for it are what stood out in my interviews for the position.

How can I figure out my personal “brand”?

  • Do some soul-searching
    Your brand is meant to be a representation of you, which means you need to be looking inward to figure it out. Meditation and journaling are great tools for beginning this process. Personally, I attended a sound bath and it really helped me create the mental space to focus my concentration inward. If you’re looking for something to try, it’s worth a shot! Jenn & Steve from Pause + Expand are very cool people to know and have great meditations on Spotify.
Logo: “Pause + Expand” with pause sign encompassed by circle
Pause + Expand logo
  • Identify what makes you special
    It’s not supposed to be the same thing as everyone else. It can be intimidating to look around a room of talented creatives and feel like you don’t belong. From one creative to another, I’ve been there. Allow me to reinforce that you do belong here and I want to know what you get excited about! It can be a tough thing to figure out on your own, but lucky for you there are some really amazing creatives that can help. Terrance Williams wrote an incredible article about his experience and identity that’s definitely worth the read.

Allow me to reinforce that you do belong here and I want to know what you get excited about!

Some of my favorite books that continually help me discover my artistic identity are Find Your Artistic Voice by Lisa Congdon and Feck Perfuction by James Victore. I’ve had the pleasure of hearing James speak at a Google event, and I highly recommend watching his talks about creating meaningful work.

Book Covers & Authors: (L to R) Find Your Artistic Voice by Lisa Congdon, Feck Perfuction by James Victore
  • Communicate your brand and use it consistently
    It’s quite possible you’re never going to be 100% satisfied with the “brand” you create for yourself. As humans, we are always evolving and growing, so it makes sense that you may not be able to capture everything on your first go. Think of your brand as the hook that draws people in, so you have an opportunity to tell them your story. That said, it’s better to have something to be recognized by than nothing at all. Once you land on your initial brand, apply it across all your platforms consistently.

Personal Example: Once I landed on my username of StatUXofLiberty, I claimed it on as many social platforms as I could: Medium, Instagram, Twitter, LinkedIn, Website, Email. I also created a bio I could include on platforms that offer a space for one. “Give me your tired, your broken, your painful interactions yearning to work easily.” Another key part of my brand identity is using the same headshot in all professional spaces/social platforms. People have introduced themselves to me in person because they recognized me from my headshots and appreciated something I said or did virtually.

Think of your brand as the hook that draws people in, so you have an opportunity to tell them your story.

There are so many UX resources, where do I start?

  • Apply yourself
    Having navigated the transition into UX myself, I understand how discouraging it can be. That said, I also understand the frustration of more senior perspectives as I have seen many grads not utilize the resources at their fingertips. Remember, you are your best advocate and you have access to resources and knowledge to help you on your journey. As simple as it sounds, Google is often your best friend when trying to learn something new or get involved.
  • Find a community to join
    By this point, you should know what area of UX interests you and gets you excited. Find a community related to that space and dive in. When joining any community, it is important to contribute value as well as receive it. You need to be willing to put in the effort in order to reap the rewards.
  • Ask for mentorship
    To grow and strengthen your design skills, you need to be getting feedback. Finding a mentor that can give you constructive and helpful feedback is critical. As you build out your UX network and connections, remember it’s up to you to ask for what you need. Not everyone you ask will have the capacity or space to say yes. It can be hard to not take rejection personally, but I assure you there are people out there that want to help. Keep pushing forward!

--

--

Liberty
Bootcamp

UX Designer | Design Thinker | Creative Nerd | Idea Factory