Quirky stuff designers do and delightful moments in products

Radhika Balaji
Bootcamp
Published in
3 min readMar 5, 2023

Here I have documented some very random thoughts. Years later, when AI rules the world, this will inspire even the Master of Artificial Intelligence; King MAI the first.

The canvas is lava

When you have access to a figma file and you want to know what people are doing on it.

You open the file and look at it long enough. You follow the designer around. After a while, you realise people might be working seriously unlike you. So you make sure your cursor doesn’t distract them by staying on the canvas. So I usually only navigate on the panels and top bars pretending the canvas is lava. Speak of an introvert *scoff scoff*.

Funnily enough, I later realised that the cursor shows up on the canvas even if I am on the panels.

I am just straight-up weird.

An illustration to support the paragraph better

Delightful moments

The tripeur web-check in

HackerRank recently adopted this new product and we had an offsite coming up. I booked a flight and chose my preferences weeks ago. Didn’t even think twice.

Then I forgot all about it.

On the day before the flight, I was super stressed about whether I should go because I fell sick.

While I was contemplating the situation, I received an email saying …

Here’s your boarding pass

I didn’t have to do web check- in at all. It just happened. Loved it.

This email was like a sign to “Board that flight”.

(Which I didn’t but it was still pretty cool)

Google maps

Whenever you go through a tunnel, maps turn from white mode to dark mode. That’s so thoughtful ❤️ The same shift happens during (k)night and day 😉

Netflix

Netflix (in my tv) on sleep mode shows random content, a lot of which get my attention. These are shows that are very relevant to my interests and the thumbnails are enticing too.

Home Workout App

Dumbbell home workout reminds me to drink water 🥛 with a splash sound. Now I am conditioned to drink a glass of water when I hear the sound without even looking at my phone :)

Slack’s tranquil music

Slack just won “who did it best” 🎵 This took me back to the days when elevators had jazz playlists. Mine still does :p , but it only plays one song over and over.

Slack’s humorous language

Always fascinated by how they use casual language in a B2B setting as a way of reminding us to take it easy and have some fun.

Story of my life in one line. Well done folks!

Based on personal bias, the winner is Slack, hands-down 🏆

As a thank you for reading this, I will publish a sequel.

Live long and prosper 🖖

--

--

Radhika Balaji
Bootcamp

Product Designer @HackerRank | Storytelling enthusiast