Take Some Time to Illustrate, Designer

Aria Todd
Bootcamp
Published in
5 min readSep 12, 2022

Hey Designer, when was the last time you picked up a piece of paper and a drawing tool and drew something non-work related?

Have you only been creating with digital mediums? Are your eyes tired and bleary from the excessive exposure to blue light?

Are you looking to make a change?

For the “non-artist” designers out there

Squidward is so relatable, haha.

Hear me out. Just because you can’t draw, doesn’t mean you shouldn’t. I hear loads of people (not just fellow designers) saying how they can’t draw, so they feel like they aren’t allowed to.

Not all designers are artists, since design is not art (that can be argued until the end of time, but I digress.) However, I ask you to consider this — when you were a child, I’m sure you drew things more often. You probably got in trouble for coloring on the walls at some point. Back then, your child's mind didn’t care whether your art was “good.” It was great because you made it.

I think it’s time we collectively rekindled that childlike spirit.

Forget about if your art is perfect. I challenge you to create art just for you and be proud while on the journey. You may surprise yourself. It’s nice to get out of your comfort zone sometimes!

For the designers who can draw

We all feel mediocre sometimes…

Maybe you’re like me, a designer who has been equally as passionate about art their entire life. Unfortunately, striving for perfection sometimes prevents me from trying new artistic techniques, or attempting to draw things haven’t before.

Even the best artists still doubt their abilities. Some of my most talented friends have gone months not drawing because they spend time on social media looking at the art of others and saying

“I could never be as good as they are.”

Then creativity stagnates. I find myself falling into similar patterns.

Nowadays there is also pressure to monetize every ounce of our creativity. We spend all day designing at our jobs, then feel like we need to turn our fun creative hobbies into side hustles.

Don’t fall for the trap.

Make sure there are artistic endeavors you pursue just for you, too.

My journey in re-discovering the joys of illustration

One day out of the blue, I decided that I wanted to draw a reptile.

I had never done it before. For the longest time, I avoided drawing animals in general. I was always intimidated by it and felt like I wouldn’t be able to make them look right.

But despite that fear, I tried it anyway. I had nothing to lose and was curious to see how it would turn out.

Last year, I was really into bullet journaling. I would take the time to do these intricate monthly setups (here are three examples of what I mean from YouTube.) I figured it was a way to challenge my art skills every month.

As an aside, I have now moved to a traditional planner, but bullet journaling is what initially inspired me to start illustrating things regularly again.

So one time I drew a snake, then I drew an iguana.

The iguana took forever! All those scales!

I also got really into drawing insects like moths and spiders (despite my fear of most bugs!)

A large hairy spider among red stained roses illustration in pen and marker, beside an illustration of a cute yellow moth in a triangle among wildflowers in purple and pink. The months July and August are written above in a gothic style typeface.
I’m amused by “repulsive” things and like to make them beautiful.

Another time, I drew this cheeky octopus.

The octopus I drew. It has yellowed eyes and it has ink on its tentacles. It’s a very playful and cartoon-like rendition. The ink only version is on the left and the color version is on the right.
Before coloring and after.

A note on the process — I use a lot of reference photos in my work. I usually take inspiration and composition from multiple sources and then cobble them into something I feel works well. I’m not too prescriptive about it and let it flow naturally. I sketch things out in pencil first, then go over them with pen and brush markers.

Recent illustrative works and explorations

This year I have been really into drawing fruit. I love seeing old-fashioned botanical illustrations like those found in antique botany books. I love the style of those drawings and find them to be inspirational.

Here are a few things I have illustrated this year so far.

Lemons and Lychee on a stem, two illustrations I did in pen and marker.
Lemons on the left, and Lychee on the right.

Maybe I should attempt drawing vegetables next?

Wait, digital art?

Okay, yes I did encourage y’all to pick up some paper and a drawing tool and create the old-school way, but I have also been interested in learning how to draw in Procreate. I got my first iPad recently, and I have fallen in love with the drawing experience.

In my first little experiment, I took the hand-drawn lemons above, scanned them in, and traced over them as practice.

Comparison of the lemon illustration I made in Procreate with the one I drew by hand. The Procreate version is less saturated and more watercolor-like than the higher contrast and harder lines of the hand drawn one.
When life gives you lemons…

I think it turned out pretty neat for a first attempt.

What I love about digital art that you can’t quite get with physical art is that you can change things up on the fly and undo mistakes without having to start over.

But then again, something is satisfying about erasing, iterating, violently crumpling (oops), and starting over too.

Challenging yourself to draw stuff opens up new perspectives!

Spongebob stands next to his doodlebob doppleganger
Don’t worry your drawings won’t come to life as evil doodles, I promise!

I encourage everyone, “artist” or not, to pick up a pen, pencil, marker, whatever, and draw stuff. Even if it’s just doodling, rough napkin drawings, or a whole masterpiece. Illustration opens pathways in the mind that we often neglect these days.

Although digital art is fun, I encourage the non-digital approach as a break from screens. When I draw on paper, my mind eases. I’m removed from the pressure to be “on”, and time itself slows down. It’s almost meditative and brings me peace.

Maybe it will do the same for you. Try it, and let me know how it goes.

Aria is a Designer and Creative Technologist from New York City. She’s currently working as a Designer at the Data Visualization and Storytelling agency, The DataFace. You can find her on LinkedIn, Twitter, and her Portfolio.

--

--

Aria Todd
Bootcamp

Designer (UX, UI, Data Viz) | Coding Hobbyist | Fashion Design | She/Her/Hers | Portfolio: https://ariadesign.tech/