Case Study: Wireframing the Glovo App πŸ”πŸ›’

Hajar Alruqi
Bootcamp
Published in
2 min readAug 23, 2024

This artickle was written as part of Ironhack’s pre-work. Wireframing_Challenge #2

Hey there, fellow designers! πŸ‘‹ Today, I’m excited to share my experience of wireframing the user flow for one of the most popular delivery apps out there β€” Glovo. πŸ“±

Choosing the App πŸ€”

When it came to selecting an app to reverse-engineer, Glovo immediately caught my eye. As a go-to for quick food and grocery deliveries, it’s an app that many of us use regularly. Plus, the ordering process involves a well-defined user flow that would be perfect for this exercise.

Identifying the User Flow πŸ•°οΈ

For this project, I decided to focus on the food ordering flow in the Glovo app. This typically includes the following screens:

1. Home screen with search and browse options
2. Restaurant listing and details
3. Menu item selection
4. Cart/order review
5. Checkout process

I thought this flow would be a great representation of the core functionality of the app and would allow me to explore the various UI elements and interactions.

Wireframing in Figma πŸ–ΌοΈ

Using Figma, I created a series of wireframe screens to map out the Glovo food ordering flow. I kept the design super simple and focused on the layout, hierarchy, and essential UI elements.

Here’s a sneak peek of the wireframes:

Glovo Wireframes
Glovo Wireframes

As you can see, I used placeholder text and simplified icons to convey the functionality without getting caught up in the visual design.

You can check out the interactive Figma prototype :

Interactive Prototype

Task Analysis πŸ’­

The key steps in the Glovo food ordering flow are:

1. Browse and select a restaurant πŸ•
2. Add menu items to the cart πŸ›’
3. Review the order and make any adjustments πŸ”
4. Enter delivery and payment details πŸ’³
5. Confirm the order πŸš€

I made sure to account for these core tasks in my wireframe prototype to ensure a smooth and intuitive user experience.

Wrapping Up πŸŽ‰

Overall, this was a really insightful exercise that allowed me to dive deep into the user flow of a popular app. Wireframing the Glovo app taught me the importance of focusing on the fundamental structure and functionality before adding any visual design.

I hope this gives you a glimpse into my process and inspires you to try your hand at wireframing your own favorite apps. Happy designing! πŸ™Œ

--

--

Hajar Alruqi
Bootcamp
Writer for

Product Manager&Developer with expertise in product lifecycle management, web application development, quality assurance, market trends, and customer engagement