Starting off on the Right Foot: That New UX Job

Christine Zoland
Design Cadets
3 min readJun 30, 2023

--

As we’re reaching halfway through 2023, I’m coming to the milestone of being in my first UX job for 6-months. Through this time, I’ve gotten the chance to grow so much, yet I know I still have so much to learn as I’ve only scratched the surface of this field.

Pink flower growing from bud to being fully bloomed.
Photo by Edward Howell on Unsplash

Recently, I’ve had informational interviews where I got to be on the other side of the table and answer questions from newer designers. Although I still feel fresh, I try to use that to my advantage as I think about the pieces of advice I want to give. I really try to focus on what has helped me early in my transition so that it leads to more meaningful discussions.

I’m excited to get the chance to share a few of these points here in the hope that it can help another designer who is just starting out in their job.

Ask Questions

It is good to have confidence in your job, but doesn’t mean you don’t ask questions along the way. Everyone builds up their own skills and experiences by asking for help from others.

In my previous role, I managed a healthcare office where I trained and mentored the new employees hired. What stuck out to me the most was the number of people who would stubbornly get blocked in their work and not ask questions to get the help they needed to complete a task. You have to remember that your colleagues are not mind readers and may not always know what difficulties you are facing.

If I had an hour to solve a problem and my life depended on it, I would use the first 55 minutes determining the proper question to ask, for once I know the proper question, I could solve the problem in less than five minutes.

-Albert Einstein

Just as Einstein states, there is an importance in understanding the right question to ask. Always use your own problem solving skills and tools at your disposal first to see how far you are able to take your own thinking. Only then will you be able to know where your gap in knowledge may be and understand what you should be asking about.

Make Mistakes (But Don’t Make Them Twice)

I know that no one wants to make a mistake, but take comfort in knowing that it is something everyone deals with. The part where you can make a difference is the next step you take after it happens. You want to take each mistake as an experience to learn from.

A UX mentor of mine advised me to make mistakes early and often, but always make sure to come out of them with better skills and knowledge. UX is a field where skills evolve with endless amounts of practice as there is always something new to learn in the field. Don’t be afraid to get out there and try new things out, learning is always a part of the journey.

Embrace Company Culture

Team meeting around a monitor.
Photo by Jason Goodman on Unsplash

Everyone’s experience will vary in this area depending on the company, but try to take advantage of the culture that your company has to offer! For me, this is even more important in a remote work role, since you don’t often get the chance to have those casual conversations easily during the day. Going to a virtual event is what allows me to make new connections and learn about other parts of the company I don’t get to interact with daily.

As a new face, this was a little daunting at first. However, as I started attending more events, faces become familiar and having those extra connections begins to make things easier. Soon, those meetings won’t be with a bunch of strangers and you will be talking among friends instead.

Don’t Forget to Have Fun

Sometimes with everything going on, you can get caught up in the stress of deadlines, meetings, and projects. Take that step back and take a breath, you made it into your UX role! Enjoy the journey along the way.

--

--

Christine Zoland
Design Cadets

Junior UX Designer at RocketReach | Excited to share my design experiences to help others in their own careers.