All my work put on building my portfolio just wasted?

Yuqing Chen
Design Dairy
Published in
4 min readMay 10, 2019

What if your wix.com just crashed

Wix is loading

As a UX designer, to build my own portfolio website, I chose Wix.com, where I can easily adjust its design and content without any coding. While I was happy with how easy it is to put everything on my website and publish it. Adjusting elements in my site sometimes is slowly or not respond timely. And suddenly, at one time, it took forever to load, and never show me the result page again. I got freaked out. I went to the help center, tried all the methods I can find, trying to fix it. However, none of them work for me. I googled to find other possible ways to fix it and found that I am not the only one who faced with this, but none of them get the problem solved. Then I had to search for customer service.

Then what did I get?

In the help center, I tried every method they provided but did not solve my problem. So here I am, submitting a request ticket.

Once I filled the form and submitted it, below is what I got to see.

THAT IS IT?!

When will you get back to me? Please let me know! I need to fix my site as soon as possible and use my portfolio to apply for jobs, how could I wait? My story after this is I got their number to call them and talked to them after waiting for a long time. They tried to fix it but failed. In the end, they told me it is a backend problem, and their engineers will work on it, estimated time to solve it is about several days to a week.

After that, I felt so frustrated that the site I spent so much time and effort to build cannot work now and I have to wait for a while to use it. Actually, if this is the case, then it is still not too bad. What actually happened is, after waiting for a week, I did not receive their feedback and my site still loads forever. Then I reopen another site and redid EVERYTHING. And after 4 months, I never received anything from them. My site still not work.

What is the service I expect to get?

Even though I experience is not pleasant, I still expect the idea experience can come someday. When the problem happens, Wix provides the nice guides in the help center for user to check, while the listed methods did not work for us, they provide the way to submit our problem and are willing to get back to us.

However, I did not hear back the useful information and have to call them by myself. Also, after quite a long time, they never fix my problem and get back to me. Even though that is the case, we can understand there must be some problems different to fix, but as a user, what I expect is that they did not forget me and are working on solving my problem. When submitting the ticket, they should tell the anxious users how long it might take for Wix to get back to users. This can definitely help users know their current situation and reduce anxiety. Also, when they are still working on solving my problem(hopefully) and this takes a long time, at least let the user know they are still working on it or notify the user that they cannot solve it. Any update would be better than nothing. To achieve this, manually responding users would be a huge effort but having an automatic email notification is an actionable way.

Users are not always rational and in many cases, they need to feel the service provider care about them, it might take more effort for the service provider but that would be the warmest moment delivering their service or service compensation.

--

--