Workit Wednesday 003

Dré Labre
Design Fiction Daily
3 min readJan 26, 2023

Absorbo self-cleaning kitchen countertop.

In today’s installment of Workit Wednesday, we’ve got this lovely selection of prompts to play with.

I’m pressed for time today, so I’m going to engage the help of someone (something) to get me through this in a quick 30–40 minutes.

LG!

So, we’re making invoice (archetype) for a piece of furniture (object) that is touchless (attribute) and absorbs (action) and it’s got to feel like it was made by Rolex (tone).

In the very little time I had to work on this, I decided to outsource some of the surface scratching to AI and see what I can make it do. So I fired up GPT-3’s playground and started crafting a prompt to generate a list of objects with the corresponding attributes.

The first list of generated items felt a bit boring and generic. I refreshed it a couple more times and it spat out some options that were okay.

A robotic arm chair that helps people in and out of the chair.

A self-adjusting bed that can be programmed to adjust to the user’s body shape and temperature preferences.

A holographic TV that projects onto any surface.

A digital clock that changes time zones and locales automatically.

A self-cleaning kitchen countertop that can be used for meal preparation and food storage.

An autonomous vacuum cleaner that uses sensors to detect dirt and debris and automatically cleans it up.

A voice-activated shower that can be programmed to adjust the temperature, water pressure, and other settings.

A self-driving car that can be programmed to drive to its destination without any human input.

A smart refrigerator that can be programmed to order groceries when needed.

A 3D printer that can create objects from a digital file.

Of all the options I decided to move ahead with the kitchen countertop. Now, it’s not furniture per se, but I just finished cobbling together a snack and left a mess on my own countertop, so this one was speaking to me.

Knowing I needed t make an invoice, I figured I should come up with some future’y names for some of the details and line items.

I asked GPT-3 to make list of names based on the object option it came up with.

Automop
Smartmop
AquaWipe
VapourSweep
SpillSoaker
MiracleMop
DryDry
Absorbo
LiquiClean
MiracleWipe

I also needed a name for the cabinetry company, so I asked it that too.

SmartStone Industries
FutureFurnishings
Infinity Edge Solutions
MiraTech Cabinetry
Hi-Tech Countertops
ClearShield Cabinets
NeoTech Surfaces
StarStone Design
CleanCare Solutions
ShineTech Cabinetry

I also needed some inspiration for what details and itemized invoice might have on it.

Kitchen Countertop:
Design
Installation

Self-Cleaning Technology:
Programmed Cleaning
Automatic Sanitation

Meal Preparation Features:
Integrated Cutting Board
Preparation Area

Food Storage:
Refrigeration
Pantry Shelving

Other:
Delivery
Installation
Warranty
Taxes
Total Cost

Great stuff AI friend … I’ve got enough to pick, choose, copy and paste into some rando invoice template I found online.

I’m outta time.

Out.

--

--