The Journey

Tithi A Jasani
Design for Service — Team 5885
3 min readApr 29, 2019

Final script of Edith’s story

1. House

Hello friend! Let’s start our journey today from where my own journey started in this world — my birth house. Do you notice the big brown house towards the north east? Here, 92 years ago on May 19th, 1929 I was born to Agatha and Christopher Smith, into a family of 7 siblings. My parents were World War 1 survivors, my father a carpenter and my mother nurse during the war, a regular working class family. I had a very happy childhood despite the aftermath of the war, where most of my days were spent in playing with my siblings in the garden and helping out my mother in her chores. I lived in this house until I got married, and once my parents passed away it was sold to the wonderful family that lives there now.

2. Elementary School

This building used to be Milton elementary school, where I went when I was little. Ever since, its been converted into ECS Primary. My favorite part of Milton School were the teachers and the playground. I was sad to see it get converted, but my son went here for elementary school. Hold up your phone with the camera facing the building, and you will unlock a photograph of Milton School.

Elementary School

3. Frick Park

Ah, Frick Park. I have lots of great memories here. In high school I used to skip class and hang out here with my friends, and we’d have a grand time. This is actually where my husband, John, and I got married. It was a beautiful July afternoon in 1945, and all of our friends and family were there. My sister’s daughters were our flower girls, and my brother’s son was the ring bearer. I remember they were a little shy to walk down the aisle, so they ended up walking just in front of me and my father! I wasn’t upset though, I was just happy to be marrying the love of my life and to be surrounded by my loved ones.

The wedding

4. Biddle’s Escape

Welcome to Biddle’s Escape! I used to come here all the time in high school with my friends. In fact, this is where I met John! He was the cutest barista. After we got married, we moved into the apartment above this place. It was perfect. When John got drafted into the military, I took over his work at the coffee shop. We had gotten close with the owner, and I wanted to help out. Unfortunately, years went by, and John never returned home. I was left alone with our son, Tim. After the owner of the coffee shop passed, he left the place to me. I considered selling it, because being a single mom wasn’t easy, but I wanted to do right by John, so I kept it running and turned it into a neighborhood hangout. I’ve long retired, but my son, Tim, runs the shop now, and I couldn’t be more proud. Now that you’re here, ask for Tim and he can tell you a bit more about the history of the place itself. Enjoy your coffee!

--

--