Analog, Digital, and Hybrid Service Modalities

Justin Finkenaur
Design for Service
Published in
2 min readJan 16, 2016

For the non-digital (analog) service experience, I chose to document my recent visit to a cobbler in Squirrel Hill. The experience was entirely analog, to the point where the cobbler would only accept cash as payment for his service. The process involved me dropping off my shoes, explaining to the cobbler what I needed him to do (I needed to have the heels replaced), and leaving the shop. It only took the cobbler about a couple days to replace the heels on my shoes. When I returned to pick up my shoes, I gave him my customer copy of the reciept he wrote for me, payed for the service, and left the shop with the shoes.

For the fully digital service experience, I chose to document purchasing a license for the CAD Software Rhinoceros. Even though the process was entirely digital, the interesting part of the experience happened when I provided my payment information to the software company in order to purchase a full license. I had to email the company with my payment information, and within a day, the company sent me a product key. I then found the link to download the software, downloaded the software to my computer, entered the product key, and now have Rhinoceros CAD on my laptop.

For the hybrid service experience, I chose to document reserving parking at the airport. The process involved searching for the airport’s parking webpage, chosing the type of parking I needed (business, economy, extended, etc), entering how long I anticipated I needed to park my car, and paying for the reservation. As customer, I kept asking myself, “How do I know if by the time I actually arrive at the airport, the parking lot won’t be completely full? What if my flight coming back to Pittsburgh is late, and I need extra time? How am I supposed to get into the parking lot?”

--

--