User Experience Shortcuts

Mayer Seidman
Design Ideas/Thoughts
2 min readJan 19, 2017

I have found (both as a user and as a designer) that there are often simple and overlooked opportunities in interfaces to make meaningful improvements to a user’s experience. These tweaks/subtleties make me stop, smile, and marvel at how a bit of thoughtfulness can alter an experience.

The common denominator in the following three examples is that each provides helpful information without a need for another layer-cluttering your main interface/function (is a shortcut of sorts).

a) Udemy

My Courses contains all of my courses (See All), where you can view your courses and filter by status-completed, archived, or in progress. However, with the Quick Start sub-navigation I can jump right into those courses I have already started (without having to first go to the page listing all my courses).

b) bluehost

Help brings up a few how-to’s (even segmented by type) that you can launch into as a user (especially helpful if you are stuck on something pretty basic and preliminary).

c) iPhone Notes

My iPhone Notes are listed vertically. As you can see at the bottom, it shows how many total notes I have (yes, my phone is in German).

If you like this post, subscribe to the publication (UI/UX examples and topics) and get involved in the conversation! Oh, and give this a clap 👏!

--

--