National Institute of Design — An Adventurous Voyage

Yash Shenai
Design India
Published in
8 min readJun 21, 2018

--

Exactly. It hella is.

Hey! I am Yash Shenai from Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra, and this could be the story of how my life shifted upside down at a very unusual checkpoint.

For some of you, this story will be an inspiration. Personally, all of the things mentioned below took innumerable hours of effort and support from my family. None of this could be achievable without the same.

This is the story of how I got into NID Vijayawada. Here is how it goes.

Even I ain’t interested in that damned lecture, mom.

Cutting history short, I was destined to be a software engineer due to misinformation and lack of awareness. Not to mention, we all know the dreaded institute that is associated with this degree. I was admitted to PACE integrated coaching classes, where I was spending most of the time ‘studying’, which mostly included doodling on the last page, reading fiction books, and basically, not paying attention to the class. The message was clear.

I was not passionate about this.

The first few weeks were miserable, being the social person I am, I was separated from a lot of my friends who continued school. There were not only new faces, but the new faces…

--

--

Yash Shenai
Design India

Product designer at Adobe | Previously at Postman, Samsung | Industrial design undergrad from the National Institute of Design