How I manage Stress

Sijeesh
Design Led

--

I got an opportunity to talk with Stephen Pestian, a product designer in ColorTokens. When we were chatting he asked how I manage stress. I thought to share that part of the conversation here.

Sports and Meditation. These two things help me to handle situations better in daily lives.

Sports
I play Cricket, Football, volleyball and Badminton. Am I really good at it? No. Am a below-average player. I know the rules of those games. I play badminton almost every day. Every game we start with HOPE. We have an opportunity to win if we play hard. We make mistakes and we learn from it. It’s the same in life. Every moment is an opportunity. Putting our best on the tasks we have, will make a good day. That doesn’t mean we win all day. We fail often. But we have an opportunity again and we can try to avoid old mistakes. We become a good team player who can play with multi-skilled people. It gives the “Sportsman spirit’ to handle the pressure and failures. Success too.

Meditation
I meditate 20 minutes every day. It helps me to be calm in certain situations and remind me to take a deep breath whenever it’s required. It provides certain clarity on things and accepts them as they are. It improves Emotional Intelligence and mental strength. As a person who works in the creative domain which demands creative ideas every single day, those blankness modes help to UNLEARN things, embrace new and wild ideas. The best thing is, it helps in decision making. That doesn’t mean I reached NIRVANA or I became like a ROCK. I still explode and lose sometimes. The time to MOVE ON is decreasing. It increases positivity, awareness and optimism.

Perfection is a goal that will remain impossible for any human being to achieve. Be genuine and have an attitude of gratitude. Always give a little extra without thinking of returns.

Those two things helping me to manage my stress in a positive way.

Thanks, Stephan for the wonderful conversation. We talked about Netflix documentary — ‘The Last Dance’, Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls etc. If you like sports documentaries I would recommend that.

“Leave it better than you found it.”

--

--