How to Start Your UI/UX Design Career

Priya Singh
Design Led
Published in
3 min readApr 15, 2021

--

I am sharing my personal story of how I started and how I feel about UI/UX Designing and stories can be different for everyone.

I think designing as a profession is something that has never ending attraction and beauty.We as a designer think how others will feel using our product that is the beauty of design, it builds your character.

I was not aware of the whole idea of how to design people work because I was also the part of crowd who believed in getting job which has something to do with programming. FYI I am a computer science engineer who started as a web designer in my first job where I was responsible for creating static web pages with its mobile version and solving design issues for clients it's a long story, but in short, I was kind of bored of not showing my idea and sitting a creating something which does not include my thought process. We all have opinions so I wanted to share them in the form of design for which I started using tools like Figma, Framer, Miro, Notion and started creating my own idea using wireframes and prototyping and liked that pretty much but this was not it to grow and I wanted to do real-time projects to work on so here I am with my first proper UI/UX job and these are few tips to get started.

Tips to start-:

  • Follow people with design backgrounds everywhere on social media by this you will be familiar with the market trends and what other designers are doing this is the best way to be motivated.
  • learn few Design terms and basic design facts and laws.
  • Design your ideas not just visual but try to focus on the features and their flow.
  • Create your portfolio on Behance and Dribble for beginning because a portfolio is the first thing that is asked by anyone.
  • Try to think of a better solution for problems which you can improve while using daily apps.
  • Read Blogs and articles, follow medium UX columns, NN group blogs, Muzli, etc.
  • If you are not working on real project try to solve UX problems exercise and create whatever you want to improve.
  • Try to surround yourself with like-minded people.
  • Improve your communication skill I think as a designer this is another most important thing.
  • Take inspiration but try to make the design on your own it will improve your design thinking ability.
  • You can join webinars of some great designers (I bet it will give you something new every time).
  • I have taken many online courses like IDF but it helps only if you are consistent.
  • At last, Everything depends on your hard work and it's never too late.
  • Your first job is somewhere you learn everything and it gives you the direction of what you will become so try to learn something every day.

Takeaway -:

Never fear while working that okay this is something that seems tough and I can skip that or you can hand it over to someone else, instead of it go for it because in my experience I have realized that whatever I have feared to do had one day bumped onto me whether its living alone or not liking any part of your work So never skip instead remember to do it another time whenever you are free. I always hated making email templates but I made a bunch of them so get out of your comfort zone so that you can hit any rough ball.

Sharing you few URLs to go through

UX Best Articles-:

https://uxdesign.cc/

https://uxplanet.org/

https://medium.muz.li/

https://www.nngroup.com/

Tools For beginners-:

https://www.figma.com/

https://miro.com/

https://www.notion.so/

--

--