Lenskart Gold: UX Audit & Redesign

Lenskart Gold Membership Entry-points 👓

Vedanshu Srivastava - UX | Design | Research
Design Led
6 min readJan 22, 2019

--

I have been using Lenskart Gold since July’18. However, my journey was offline via a retail store. Going back to the app, I believe that this could be better⏤ like so much better.

Image: Lenskart Facebook Page

Why Lenskart Gold? 😎

Lenskart is an Indian eyewear online portal founded by Peyush Bansal in November 2010 in Delhi. Co-founders Amit Chaudhary and Sumeet Kapahi joined Peyush at a later date. The company’s portfolio of products ranges from prescription glasses and contact lenses to sunglasses. The Indian eyewear market is worth billions, and hence a premium program was started by Lenskart to capture the market by offering exclusive member deals.

Gold Value proposition

Why should one subscribe to Lenskart Gold?

Lenskart’s Gold Membership program comes with a host of exclusive benefits and discounts for members -

  • Get Buy 1 Get 1 Free for 365 Days
  • Share membership with family and friends by giving them your mail/phone number.
  • Buy Online and at 400+ Lenskart stores.

Valid for one year only.

User Research 🕵🏻‍

For successful research, identifying the target audience is of prime importance. Without it, the research results become skewed as the research sample might not even relate to the solution provided.

Since I have used Lenskart on three occasions, I will also use my experience.

Template from Xtensio

I need to buy powered sunglasses and a pair of regular spectacles. I am looking forward to getting some outstanding offers with the best quality.

The Challenge 🌂

So I checked on the website and even installed the apps (ios & Android); however, my user journey was clouded with so many things happening simultaneously. It left me confused that, for once, I even decided to go to an offline store and get it done there. Some of the problems I faced were:

Multiple campaigns running simultaneously

If you go to the app/website or even google it, there are so many offers running simultaneously, which needs to be clarified. It’s hard to decide which request to use and if it is possible to combine most of them; the greed to get more discounts made my user journey super complicated.

Lenskart Multiple Offers

So Gold gives me Buy 1 Get 1, and this offer provides me 1st Frame free! Now which one is more lucrative? It needs more homework; it provides more dropoff!

Different deal on different category — Distraction?😫

I have been a speccy since 2001, so I have tried almost everything in the market-variety of frames, variations of glasses and not to mention even coloured lenses. But when you get a discount on everything, it sounds so good-yes! But I needed clarification because I lost focus on what I was surfing Lenskart for.

Gold Membership similar offers

Some deals sound similar to Gold Membership, but all that glitters is not Gold. God!

Lenskart App screens with different offer banners.

Okay, now I am done; I want a good deal without buying Rs.500 for membership, but wait…why not check the website? To expect more clarity.

But wait, more offers? Some with Gold Membership, some without a membership — all posted together piled in the worst manner possible! And yes, not to forget, my 1st Frame is free.

Lenskart offers on the website.

My user journey after this is something like this:

User Journey: Expectation versus Reality. Icons: Flaticon.com

Is GOLD not valid on specific lenses/brands?

I have personally loved Lenskart for the variety of lenses they offer. Glasses are often treated with special coatings or technology to protect your eyes from harmful glare and eye strains.
The technology helps to provide better visual acuity throughout your eyewear journey. Some of the types are:

Image: Lenskart Website

So after research, I finally decided to go for Gold Membership and buy one regular and one powered sunglass, expecting the 2nd one to be free…
I spent 2–3 hours doing a 3D try on the glasses.

But wait, where is the GOLD MEMBER discount? Here is my cart view:

Lenskart Shopping cart

Can I not need help to spot the 2nd Frame free or even a 1% discount?
I went into T&C, and there, at a very tiny corner, this was mentioned:

T&C

So yes, GOLD membership is limited to specific brands, and this fact is not visible in the T&C, which is a TL;DR section for me.

My online experience was so bad that eventually I went to the nearest Lenskart store. The store guy explained all the best offers and their limitations, understood my requirement -gave me the best deal available. I am happy with the Lenskart Store services.

Solution😊

Just because I went to the offline store does not prove I will do it again. No! I’d suggest some changes which can elevate the experience. To begin with:

Make GOLD membership look like GOLD🌟

A GOLD member should feel privileged and exclusive with the membership, and a non-member should get tempted to go for it. Hence, I suggest changing the app icon once the user purchases the GOLD membership.

Suggested App Icon change

Visibility on User Profile — App

I checked the App from both perspectives — a member & non-member. However, not much information could convert me into a possible member. Hence I suggest a tab to inform me about the existing program and how it differs from the First frame free campaign.

Suggested Menu view

The new user needs to understand the difference between the two, as the new user might hesitate to go for more than one product/paying for the membership.

Membership detail page

Once the user expresses interest in the membership, we need to tell him exactly what he is getting for the money he will invest, not the last-minute surprises I had to face.

I also changed the existing icons to ones more suited to the UI Trends 2019.

I changed the GOlD membership product page to make it more impactful.
I also did UI tweaks on the related pages.

Gold membership product page.

membership messages

I also changed the flow beginning with Login because one can only Buy the membership by signing in—the noted change on the landing page is presented above.

Further Improvements

A toggle button can be added on the top to enable or disable the Gold Services. On switching, the products covered under Gold will display. The downside is that the user might not be able to see the other brands, but the upside is that:

Non members will notice it and will be curious to know what extra they will get with the Gold

Members will have a better user journey without wandering off.

Conclusion

Pleasant user journey or Not, I still prefer Lenskart because of the quality and options. However, with so many offline stores doing great business, Lenskart focuses less on the Digital space w.r.t. Visual designs and user experience.

I am looking forward to seeing more innovative ideas from Lenskart.

--

--

Vedanshu Srivastava - UX | Design | Research
Design Led

Design Strategist and Consultant | Sharing 10 years of Design Craft | Co-founder of Wugweb | Advisor to Designer-led Businesses