ZOMATO vs SWIGGY: Can design have an impact on India’s hunger war?

Smriti Rawat
Design Led
Published in
3 min readSep 9, 2019

Now this is one of those hard to answer, question in trend which doesn’t have one clear winner rather we have two aces of the market and we have to decide who’s better. Isn’t it familiar! We all have been in such situations at least once in our entire lives, figuring out whose better Marvel or DC , Apple or Google , Messi or Ronaldo , Coke or Pepsi and the list goes on and on. To my excitement, each one of these have their respective fan base and we cannot deny but accept.

So here I am , picking up my side on the new trending brand war. For me as a user in this case, the main concern would always be how convenient, fast and economical it gets for me to order food online. Earlier, I used to rely on zomato every time when it was a monopoly, ever since swiggy’s coming to light and becoming overnight hero I hardly went back to zomato. So for quite a good time , Swiggy was a sure shot winner for me.

Reasons why Swiggy got an edge over Zomato initially :

  1. Swiggy’s in-house Delivery: Unlike it’s counterpart, swiggy started the business with their own delivery chain which made food delivery fast.
  2. Discounts and coupons: What else one could ask for ! They started with decent amount of discounts and offers, good enough to increase their user base.
  3. The Breathing Space in its UI: You won’t believe how easy it made my life , when I used to see all that white space around the text and images . Swiggy felt very light on the eyes as compared to zomato (Yes ,it did make an impact on the business).

Swiggy would have taken over it according to me until recently when I came across Zomato’s New UI, which they are calling it their “ New Design System – SHUSHI” to provide a new an enhanced experience to their users . Believe me on this , zomato made the difference and how !

Here are some of the new features in Zomato’s new UI , which are super amazing and makes it a winner for me:

  1. Simplistic Interface: You cannot ignore the power of simple and minimal layout .
  1. The loading Page : if you haven’t come across those cute refresh pages , please go check it out , how zomato is increasing your GK while you order your food.
  1. Interactive product: when was the last time an app told you to file your ITR ? Yes trust me on this ! Zomato has come over as more than just a food ordering app.

Inspite of creating headlines for delivery and quality related issues , I seriously believe zomato did hit the nail on the head , when it was actually needed.

Now we have to see , how swiggy comes up with an answer to this !

Till then, Zomato you have my heart ❤️

--

--

Smriti Rawat
Design Led

A product/ experience designer passionate about understanding consumer psychology. Currently at Dunzo | Prev. Internshala