Are you a design leader?

5 Capabilities Any Design Leader In An Organisation Should Focus On

Giray
Design Liftoff
5 min readJan 24, 2022

--

Service Design is still new and exciting, whether we are working with B2C or B2B services. This is both a blessing and a curse, because there’s a lot of opportunities to learn (as well as unlearn). My intention is to help others who are in similar situation to find takeaways and ideas, and also to document my own journey.

We all want to create something that will stand out. Something brilliant. Something beautiful. Something that will truly make the project stand out.

The role of design within an organisation is changing but, alas, not as fast as the role of design in how organisations do business. As a result, the responsibilities of design leaders are changing faster than they may be prepared to handle.

By embracing ambiguity and exploring divergent futures, design activities can increase flexibility and decrease risk. And a design leader needs to be the front runner.

And so, to make sure the design leader has a clear and actionable understanding of how their capabilities can contribute to the success of the organisation, I am listing some capabilities they should focus on.

Getting buy-in from business partners

We’re talking about an internal design leader’s capacity to inspire and influence. Also a person who builds bridges between business and design.

In order for design to be effective it needs support from top management and other business stakeholders. The buy-in of individuals should include mission alignment: Define your organisation’s mission or vision statement. This will bring everyone on board with your company’s goals and desired outcomes.

What’s needed for success at this point in time? That question is best answered by the people who are closest to the issues and opportunities, which are usually the business partners. You need to communicate and evangelise design thinking to them. You need them to take ownership of the process, so that they champion it with their own management. You need to evaluate whether or not design is helping them achieve their objectives, whether it’s making a difference.

Calculating the ROI (return on investment) of design and presenting to management:

You’ve got a vision of what you want, but how do you present it to management? Show all the possible ROI calculations and how you can reduce costs through finding smart new ideas and developing them.

Keep track of the business value you’ve added. Show it in terms of cost savings, increased revenue, quality improvements, etc.

Connecting design objectives to business objectives:

The same way parents with children are united in wanting their children to grow up well, business and design leaders are united together in wanting every company to create value.

Design is more than just eye candy; it’s about solving user problems, generating competitive advantage and improving business results all at once. A designer may need to work with strategic planning teams or contribute to an overall marketing strategy before any designs can be considered.

Negotiating with non-designers

You may have to convince several stakeholders of your company that designers should be in charge of most aspects of the product’s development and that it is the senior management’s duty to support them. You could also negotiate with product management over a product’s aesthetics and production costs.

Communicating trade-off decision risks and benefits

There is a reciprocating relationship between decision risks and benefits. Risks are made up of the probability of happening and the scale of the impact. Benefits are made up of the value, the effect, the degree of control and the probability of deliverables against objectives.

What’s most important for your particular company is what will help move forward your business goals, as defined by your business partners. Sometimes this means focusing on cross-functional collaboration; sometimes it means considering what kind of support you can provide to help users do their jobs more efficiently or effectively; sometimes it means understanding how your product fits into the larger ecosystem and how users see it in relationship to other products in that ecosystem.

Working closely with business and technology partners requires an ongoing commitment from all sides: clear communication, open dialogue and transparency, ongoing evaluation of performance, and lots of patience. It also requires high-level cultural buy-in; everyone involved should feel like they are all part of the same team working toward the aligned goals.

Afterword:

Working as an in-house service designer was a different experience.

During my time, I have learned more about myself and my strengths and how to put them to work at this company than in any other previous experiences I had. At the end of two years, I feel like two years in an organisation like this was a great way to improve my soft skills and put me in a driver seat more than ever.

As I have gained experience in my career, I have learned that it is important to focus on certain capabilities. These capabilities will make me a more valuable employee, which will lead to opportunities for personal and professional growth.

I have begun to understand how I can put my strengths to work. I felt like, from now on my career will move forward in a meaningful way.

This job has also taught me that how I am able to work under pressure, as well as with many other departments at one time. When projects are behind schedule because of issues with one department, it is important for others to step up and get the project back on track so deadlines can still be met.

I feel like my career moved forward in a meaningful way. At the end of two years, I am beginning to understand how I can put my strengths to work. At the end of two years, I feel like every day is a chance to learn.

end of Part 7/7

This is a series of seven posts on working in service design in an organisation.

I have revised, recollected and reframe my notes into these posts. Each one focusing on different perspectives. I hope you find it interesting. If you like my writing and want to read more from me please say a few words so I can understand where my interests are most appreciated.

Originally published at https://www.giraykirmizi.com on January 24, 2022.

--

--

Giray
Design Liftoff

Design Management | Service Design | interested in design maturity, organisations, blockchain tech, fitness and plants