Here’s How to Turn Up the Volume on Etsy

Miroslav Novohradsky
Design Nexus
Published in
3 min readFeb 14, 2024

--

Master these ranking factors.

I still remember the thrill of making my first Etsy sale.

I thought, “I could get used to this!”

Flash forward a few years and hundreds of sales later, and my little side hustle has turned into a small passive income.

I’ve learned quite a bit about what makes an Etsy shop successful along the way. But nothing prepared me for the algorithm updates and ranking shifts I experienced last year.

My once-steady stream of visits and sales slowed to a trickle. Had I done something wrong? Lost my creative spark? Have taken my customers for granted?

Turns out, the key to consistent Etsy success lies in understanding their ranking factors and optimizing accordingly.

Spend time on the wrong efforts, and you’ll spin your wheels.

Focus on what Etsy values, though, and you’ll keep the momentum going.

Intrigued about how to keep your listings visible and enticing to buyers? Read on for the top three ranking factors I recommend focusing on now.

Keywords, Keywords, Keywords

I know, keyword stuffing went out back in the 90s era of website design.

But you still need to…

--

--

Miroslav Novohradsky
Design Nexus

Writing about graphic design, digital products, and how to sell them. Psst: Get our free Digital Product Starter Kit - https://bit.ly/4eyCDbo